Come and help us with creating our home, workshops, tree nursery and woodland garden in West Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our late fifties,living in our 15 acre wood in rural west Somerset on the edge of beautiful Exmoor. We . keep pigs, bees and chickens. We produce charcoal and bio char and have started a tree nursery.Paul is a forester and timber frame builder and is often working on other peoples projects. Jane produces the charcaol and works in the tree nursery, while project managing the work in the wood.
    We are happy to meet new and interesting people and welcome volunteers who are prepared to join in and enjoy a challenge.
    Please let us know if you have a specific skill.
    We are completely off grid, electricity is from solar panels. Accomodation is a warm and dry caravan.We willl provide shared meals some days, and provisions for you to cook your own meals other days.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even though we are in a rural setting the nearest small town has a very active community, with lots of events.
    The nearest big town is Taunton, with good connections to Bristol and Exeter, which are both cultural hubs.
    My partner is an experienced forester who is happy to share his considerable knowledge of trees and forestry and woodland managment. You will also have an opportunity to learn about building with timber.
    I am a jeweller and experienced gardener. You will learn how to set up a garden from scratch, in a woodland setting.

  • Help

    Help

    We require someone who is prepared to work 3-4 days a week, including one day of the weekend.
    Tasks will include work in the tree nursery, firewood, fencing and general land management.
    Please be aware that some of the work will be physically hard, especially in the wood.The help we need changes as the seasons change.
    The projects that we need help with are :working in the tree nursery, tree planting and weeding, charcoal burning, firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained caravan, sleeps two, with cooking facilities and 12 volt electrics.
    Compost loo. There is no running water in the caravan. Limited broadband access.
    We are completley off grid.

    Please bring wellingtons/strong boots
    Waterproof clothing
    Torch
    Strong gloves
    Enthusiasm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fantastic walks, good pubs, spectacular coastline half hour drive away. Sailing in nearby lake
    Good transport links from nearest small town to Taunton and Exeter only half an hour by train from there.
    The local town is 5 miles away. The bus stop is 2 miles away.
    Buses run Monday to Saturday to the local town and Taunton.
    You can get lifts if one of us is driving in.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 876914413657