Help us become more self-sustainable in our quaint old country home in Shediac, Canada



Favourited 30 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    My husband and I are acupuncturists and own a 1-acre property with a quaint old country home. We have been working at becoming more self-sustainable, and have all kinds of interesting projects in the yard and the house that we could really use some help with. We really believe in holistic living both in life and in health. It's important for us to become local-oriented, organic, and community-minded.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On a skills level, there is a lot we can show for how to maintain a garden, take care of chickens, some basic carpentry and landscaping, and those kind of labour skills. On a personal level, we do a lot of personal counselling, so we have a fairly strong background in different daoist and buddhist philosophies or holistic living structures. If you are "stuck" in life, we could offer some new ways of looking at your life that could yield some new results :D

  • Help


    We have quite an extensive garden, and always need help tending and weeding. We also would want to build a greenhouse, a cold-storage shed or structure, and even make a chicken coop for laying hens. We also have meat birds and if the timing is right (this year it is mid-Jul and mid-Sept), you could learn how to butcher them. I also have aspirations to make a great little play area for our toddler in the back. Our house has a lot of improvements we need to do, including adding more support in the basement, changing insulation in the attic and doing proper ventilation, etc. Most of our ideas need minimal skills, just enthusiasm!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Français

  • Accommodation


    It's normally camping at our place, but if you are single or a couple and plan to stay longer, we can arrange a small but sunny room with a separate entrance (normally the room is a second clinic room for our business).

    We aim to cook mostly local and organic, with a variety of dishes, including stir fries, salads, rice pasta and our own chicken. We are comfortable with vegetarian and vegan, but generally eat from all food groups.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Shediac and the surrounding area are known for their lovely sand beaches. It's also got a vibrant arts culture and many people interested in local food. Moncton has quite a thriving arts community. There are other farms in the area that would probably be open to similar arrangements of work for accommodations. The Dunes in Bouchtouche are lovely, and there is the Hopewell Rocks, Fundy park, and Kouchibouguac park.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 874356267824