Help an Anglo-Italian family living near Venice with our land, animals and children, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1092

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Anglo-Italian family living near Venice, Veneto. I (Jeremy) teach English online whereas Serena (who is Italian) works as a doctor. We have two daughters. Caterina is not yet one while Margherita is two. Margherita loves playing in the garden, picking fruit and vegetables and generally exploring.

    We live in an old (fully renovated) farmhouse. Although we are not farmers we have a large vegetable patch, chickes and lots of fruit trees. The trees include walnut, hazlenut, kiwi, apple, cherry, peach, apricot, plum, pears, fig, gooseberry, grapes and other stranger trees like the 'caki' tree and the 'nespole' tree.

    We try to cook as much as possible with our produce but there are also great little shops nearby where you can buy beautiful produce from all over Italy (mozzarelle from Campania, oranges from sicily, prosciutto crudo from Parma etc.).

    The grounds of the farmhouse are very lovely. As well as the trees and plants we have a small playground for Margherita and Caterina. We also have a sort of games room (the old stable) with a table-tennis table. In the summer there's a paddling pool outside. The location is semi-rural as there are fields at the back of the house but nearby there are villages with everything you need (supermarkets, small shops etc.). There is a proper cycle path to the villages but also to historic Venice (very last stretch is on the road). Transport links are good. There is a bus stop right outside our house which connect to Venice (bus + tram or bus + bus).

    We are friendly and easy-going but we do like to keep our house very clean and tidy. We are definitely a non-smoking family and so probably not a good match with smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love languages and learning and we'd be pleased to help you to learn Italian.

  • Help

    Help

    We live in an old farmhouse (completely renovated) with chickens, a vegetable plot and lots of fruit and nut trees. There is always something to do and help with. Obviously jobs would be decided in accordance with the guest depeneding on their skills and interests.

    Depending on the season it could be picking the fruit and vegetables, making jam, preparing and tending the vegetable plot, collecting and choping firewood, feeding the chickens, mowing the grass (small tractor), pruning and treating the fruit trees (organic as possible).

    We also have two little daughters so there is plenty to help with there. Caterina is not yet one so we wouldn't expect help with her but Margherita is a lively and playful 2-year-old who loves singing. dancing and exploring outside. W

    e would love to do some imaginative, fun and creative activities with her. We also love cooking and eating (especially Italian but really any cuisine) and would be happy to share that task as well (depending on skills and interests of guests).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small cottage on the grounds of the farmhouse for guests. It is recently renovated but in a rustic style. There is a sitting room (complete with a beautiful wood-burner / stove), a bedroom, a small but complete kitchen and a toilet / showeroom.

    There is also a small front terrace and back terrace with tables, chairs, sun umbrella etc. There is air-conditioning / electric heating in both the bedroom and the living room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby (30 minutes drive) there are also the beautiful cities of Treviso and Padova (quite a lively student city). Other smaller towns which are very near and worth visiting include Noale, Mogliano and Mirano.

    There are also good road and train links to Vicenza, Verona, Bologna, Brescia, Lake Garda. Even Rome is only a 3 hour train journey from us. We would expect guests to contribute to family life (eating together, sharing jobs) but also to have lots of free time off including whole days (or couple of days) for mini-breaks within Italy.

    There are so many amazing cities that are within striking distance if you are interested in art, food, history etc. We would be very flexible.

    We are also pretty near lake Garda and the alps for hiking in the summer and skiing in the winter. In a couple of hours of driving you can get to some good ski slopes (depending in season!).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week (with possibility for more days off for mini-breaks etc.)

Host ref number: 872851558471