Help watch an adorable baby and live with an American family try to learn French in Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an American family living in Quebec, Canada where we work at Jeunesse en Mission (JEM) / Youth with a Mission (YWAM), an international non-profit organization. We help run a school of filmmaking and acting for Christians wanting to pursue careers in the entertainment industry. While training students through the film school, we also collaborate on professional film and theatre projects both in our area and in Montreal (which is about an hour away). We have four kids: two girls (ages 10 & 4) and two boys (ages 7 and 1) and a fluffy and good-natured dog. We are educated people who love storytelling through film and theatre and training young people to pursue their passion and calling to the film industry. We do it all with four amazing kids in tow! Our 3-month training school begins January 2020, so we are primarily looking for help from January to March, 2020.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a French speaking area on Lac Davignon in Cowansville, Quebec (although we speak English in the home). Our guests will have a wonderful opportunity to practice French in the local community (or English, depending on what your first language is). Our house is walking distance from a vegan-friendly cafe and the main street which has some shops, pub, movie theatre, and coffee shops. We are part of an international community with JEM/YWAM and work with the School of Filmmaking & Acting. Both husband and wife are writers, teachers, and passionate about the arts. He has an MFA in Scriptwriting and she is an actress who also has a Masters in English and adjuncts university courses online. We are a musical family and love to play the guitar, mandolin, ukulele, and sing. We like to puzzle and read. We enjoy having family movie nights, though we can also be very active. We love camping, going on hikes, and exploring the beautiful mountains near where we live. We have an eight-passenger van and would welcome anyone living with us to join on our adventures!

  • Help

    Help

    Our four children are Ella Rose (10), Peter (7), Marigold (4) and Philip (1). We are primarily looking for help with our youngest son Philip, while the older three attend school, between the hours of 8am and 1pm, from January-March. We are looking for someone who naturally enjoys being with children and preferably also has experience with babies. Philip (affectionately called Pip) is a happy and explorative one-year old, he loves music and games, laughing and climbing, and playing outside.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English / French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large, refurbished bedroom in the basement, with a private bathroom and shower (although access to the washer/dryer will be shared through your room). We can provide groceries, room & board in exchange for help with childcare and some basic household cleaning, such as helping with dishes or picking up toys.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many ski opportunities in the area, the closest ones being Mont Sutton and Bromont. We are about 1 hour from the historic city of Montreal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 872791435843