Learn all about sleddogs an the northern way of living in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1851

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with 3 teenagers located nearby the beautiful Rondane Nationalpark in Folldal, Hedmark, Norway. We do have between 25-40 sleddogs, yearlings and puppies. Every year we take part in different long distance sleddog races as Femundløpet and Finnmarksløpet in Norway.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will help to feed, clean and train sleddogs, play and teach puppies and learn about long distance sleddogracing.
    Of course you will also learn the Northern way of living and all about sleddogs.

  • Help

    Help

    Dog mushing in a longdistance kennel: take care of the dogs, feeding and training sleddogs in summer- and wintertime. In summertime we do have to repair and fix everything in and around the kennel and the house.
    It is mostly a physical work during the whole year as, training dogs, cleaning dog yards, feeding the dogs, walking with puppies, walk in the free running area with all the dogs, preparing for the races, showling snow.
    It´s hard work and long days, but working with dogs and training sleddogs is amazing and we do have lots of fun. You will get to learn a lot about the work on a sleddog kennel. We are coming to train dogs in day - and nighttime

    We are looking for persons that can stay here for a longer period of time. It needs time to learn all about dog and dogsledding.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in an appartment with new and god standard, sleepingroom on your own, kitchen and bath.
    You will get 3 meals a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nature in this part of Norway is amazing. There is a lot outdoor activities, no larger cities, a nice family with one or to handlers and a lot a projects we have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 hours per day 7 days a week- or 25 hours/week

Host ref number: 872435539586