We are working towards an organic small holding with livestock, large garden, tree nursery and workshop. Far North Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We moved onto the land in April 2017. It was uninhabited for many years, so needs lots of tlc to bring it back into productive use.

    We are working towards an organic small holding with livestock, large garden, tree nursery and workshop. We are off grid with basic facilities - the volunteers will have their own caravan, use of compost toilet with bucket showers. We will have shared meals (mostly vegetarian). We run a small wood working business from the site and are happy to share our skills with volunteers where possible. Tasks will be varied and include help around the land everything from the garden, to building projects, to sorting and clearing land and the remaining debris.

    We have two dogs, chickens and a small baby. Our land is about 14 miles from John O'Groats and is in a beautiful part of Scotland - excellent places to explore nearby and a good place to see this amazing part of the world!

    We look forward to hearing from you

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lots of knowledge in permaculture, wood working, living off grid/simply and alternative lifestyles. The area we live in is amazing! We are a short distance from ferries to the Orkneys and this part of the world has amazing beaches, fantastic history and beautiful scenery! Lots to explore nearby on days off.

  • Help

    Help

    We will try to provide varied work - we have a garden, lots of small building/renovation projects happening, we are still clearing and tidying the site - so help with this is good. We are also doing winter prep - splitting firewood, tree maintenance (on both established trees and ones we have recently planted), strimming etc. We ask for 5 hours help per day - 5 days per week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is fairly basic - you will have your own caravan (off grid) with shared compost loo and bucket showers. Please bring your own sleeping bag etc. We will eat our meals together. There is electricity in the main cabin where phones etc can be charged.
    Work awayers will be expected to help with meal prep/tidying away outside of work hours (we will eat together and general help to prepare meals/tidy on rotation will be good) - just as you would do at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are two miles from the nearest bus stop - so easy to access. There is no internet where we live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 865232888298