Enjoy time in Northern California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family is situated on 18 acres in Northern California. We built a passive solar straw bale house on a mountain top, and enjoy the beauty and bounty from this incredible place. We have lived here since 2010 and have been working from the ground up. A lot has been accomplished and we hope to continue! We are very laid back, going with the ebb & flow of life, yet strive to create our eden every day! We have had many folks visit & helps us from all over the globe...we love making new friends!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you love the outdoors, and want to see an amazing piece of northern california, this is the place...Fall time is hub for international travelers. Many folks from all over come to see the beauty of this place. An hour away from the nearest city (Redding CA) and 2 1/2 hours from the coast (Fortuna CA)

  • Help

    Help

    We get up early and get to work...try & chill at the creek in the heat, then a little bit more work...then we are done! We have so many projects and so many ideas, we just need helping hands. A short list of goals to accomplish this year:
    Chicken coop
    fencing
    wood shed
    plastering
    painting
    green house
    swales & terraces
    excavation work
    weeding
    gardening
    cleaning & cooking
    preserving harvest

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra room, open occasionally. We also have a 5th wheel that can sleep 5, 2 couples & one solo..or?
    I also have a large tent that can sleep about 8, and a 18ft teepee that accommodate more...there is also many spots to sleep under the stars!
    We have a kitchen inside but would love to create an outdoor kitchen. The 5th wheel also has a kitchen. We eat when we are hungry...and try to buy good food...mostly organic, GF, mixed diet and veggies from the garden as much as we can. We can provide staples and share meals. Special diets will be considered and worked out as best as possible, but I am not a gourmet chef, so let us know so we can figure something out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect people to be safe, kind and courteous of all living things. We focus on NVC (non violent communication) and strive to be conscious in our daily lives. Time off is for your leisure, many things to do: hiking, swimming, fishing, reading, crafts, arts....???
    We expect people to be responsible, thoughtful and willing to work. IF I have left anything out, please feel free to reach out!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 862438856879