URGENT Help needed! Maintenance/renovation of garden/orchard/pool/eco projects. Also childcare help with 15 month son on our beautiful organic farm in the beautiful Charente Maritime.



Favourited 137 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    British/French couple living in the stunning Charente Maritime area (second sunniest region in france) on an organic cereal farm run by Claude, living in the real french family courtyard.. we are looking for a couple immediately and over summer, available to help with renovations/DIY/garden/orchard and pool maintenance, and some experienced childcare with 1 year old Nathaniel - including potential help with occasional visits to Paris or UK….We have some individual interesting projects also - designing and creating a 'small space' eco chalet out of an existing garden shed, and/or finishing off renovating an old sailing boat! We have 5 large bedrooms all ensuite in an ancient old farmhouse recently renovated..there is also a mobile home in the grounds if preferred… we would expect about 5 hours per day for 5 days a week, but with flexibility...evenings and weekends would be yours to explore the beautiful region, either villages and towns full of historic interest nearby, or the famous Charente river and coastline, fabulous beaches and islands such as Ile de Ré, known for their sunshine and beauty. Would suit either a young couple or semi retired couple who have experience with small children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Mainly physical work outside in garden, orchard and barns - weeding, helping create an eco-chalet, general DIY/handyman jobs, maintenance of pool some painting inside…and childcare help..we are also renovating an sailing boat's engine and finishing off interior, if that is of interest! We are particularly keen to have some proper nanny type help with our happy 1 year old Nathaniel, to give Cecilia time for her part time work…ideally this would very occasionally involve accompanying her on the rare occasion she has to travel with Nathaniel.
    We live in the true french family courtyard, and the parents/aunt provide us with most of our vegetables all organic and grown in a large vegetable garden, also eggs from the chickens.
    We would expect help with washing up after some meals, and ideally one meal a week cooked by you to exchange cultures/ideas/socialise..we may also provide cooking facilities so you have some autonomy as well for a longer stay.
    You would have evenings and two days per week free to explore the beautiful region we live in and/or the coast nearby of La Rochelle, and/or visit Bordeaux, Paris or Poitiers, all a short car or train journey away. For a longer stay obviously we would be very happy for you to take time off to go travelling or take holiays..We are bi-lingual french/english, and happy to help with either language!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have five bedrooms all ensuite, so can provide a large room with ensuite bath and shower, desk and wifi. We also have a mobile home which could be used for a longer stay to give autonomy.
    We would prefer a couple but consider single as well.
    We have two bicycles to use on the farm and surrounding countryside lanes..driving licenses and car would be more or less essential for getting around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a hamlet about 5-10 mins from the nearest market town, which has all amenities and is renowned for its french character, open air markets and historic beauty..we are 30 mins from Saintes, also known for its beauty and historical significance...one hour from the famous coastline, such as La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Ile D'Oleron, and beaches, and similar from Bordeaux and Poitiers. Our farm is an organic cereal farm, mainly sunflowers and other, with many small lanes ideal for cycling through the countryside and picnics. Claude has a small plane (microlight) and we hope to put our old sailing boat on the Charente this summer..We are rural but extremely well placed for getting to big cities (e.g. 3 hrs to Paris by train) and the coast, or north and south of france. We are hoping for a couple who would be able to stay several months (after an initial trial for both sides )to give us continuity for Nathaniel…in which case obviously we would negotiate longer holidays and time off…

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    five hours a day for five days a week

Host ref number: 861792952895