Young family of 5 in the outback with sheep in South Australia- close to major towns!

Country

Australia

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** We currently have no vacancies until June 2020 **
    We are a young family of 5 - Charlie & Kylie, Will (7), Ollie (5) and Annalise (2), and 2 grandparents (Jane & Warren). We live on a working sheep property, situated 50 km from Orroroo. This is an opportunity to work in the outback but still be close to major towns such as Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Clare. You will be involved in working with sheep and tourists on a daily basis. If you want an outback experience without having to travel a long distance, this is the place for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The nearest town has summer and winter sporting events, swimming pool and gym, 2 hotels, 2 coffee shops, etc. We have great walks in the hills and gorges where you will see plenty of wildlife. We have 2 dogs (Rex and Dixie) and 1 cat (Harley) who love people. We have au pairs who stay for 3 months to help look after the pre-school children, so there are usually other young people on the property.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    All skills can be used at Bendleby - from gardening, feeding dogs and chickens, cooking, cleaning, fencing, feeding sheep, campsite preparation, minor maintenance and painting jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small one bedroom cottage available. It has reverse cycle air conditioning, and an outdoor BBQ to enjoy the local views and starry nights. A car is available to use in conjunction with our au pair. Mobile phone coverage is available near the homestead. The cottage is situated near the hangar where the Jabiru (light aircraft) is housed, about 100m from the homestead. You are encouraged to cook your own meals in your cabin, food is provided. We would love to have family BBQ and occasional meals together!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are other young workers in the local town who often organise get-togethers and things to do on the weekends. There are walks on the property and some great drives through the hills, with 360° views. The property is situated in the Flinders Ranges, close to Wilpena Pound, Parachilna and Blinman, which is a great area to visit on a weekend. Also close to a major wine region - Clare Valley.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 843586262661