Learn about life at an off grid homestead in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We run an off grid homestead. In the early spring we start getting the animals we raise for food. We live on 80 acres of bush land with our closest neighbours being 2 kilometres away. We have a well for water but use propane, solar and wood for heat. We grow a garden for fresh vegetables and canning for winter. There is a main cabin on the property that we live in that has an outdoor kitchen accessible for everyone. There is a cabin that that would be all yours to stay in. There is plenty of wildlife and beautiful trails. Very peaceful and quiet with huge trees everywhere.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn how an off grid homestead works, maintenance of small equipment, gardening, canning, animal care, carpentry, foraging for native enable plants

  • Help

    Help

    We require help with small building projects, gathering wood for winter, keeping animals comfortable and areas clean, clearing of small portions of land.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cabin with a king size comfortable bed. There is an outhouse. A shower outside or in the main cabin. Most dinners will be cooked for you or you can cook but you will need to cook your own breakfast and lunch most days with limited food provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of trails and we do have quads and side by side. The closest town is 10 minutes away and there are lots of historical sites close by. We try to live a simple life and try to keep things as clean as possible. We have 2 dogs and a cat that have full run of the homestead to help keep wildlife away. We enjoy evening fires under the stars and using the quadding trails regularly. Work needs to be done but play and relaxing time is important too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 841835954145