Join green suburban oasis and enjoy spontaneous tasks in Czarny Las, Poland

Country

Poland

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    "Summertime...and the living is easy, fish are jumping, and the cotton is high..."
    We are a multi-cultural family of 4, half Polish half German (German father, Polish mother, and two daughters: Olivia 24 y.o. & Sara 20 y.o.). We speak fluent English, Sara is learning Spanish, Olivia - Korean.
    We live in the countryside, in close vicinity to the capital of Poland. Czarny Las is a suburban village where life is easy to enjoy. Our big house and garden require more attention than we can sometimes give it... that's why we decided to reach out to the world and invite You to come and join us in our green oasis, where work and leisure interlace.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a happy family, who love to talk and often have deep conversations about various topics. Which, I guess makes us an intellectual family, Gosia is an English and Polish teacher, Klaus studied Finance and Engineering at MIT. Olivia studied Anthropology at the University of Aberdeen, and Sara is just about to start her studies at the University of Warsaw. We have two cats, and about to receive a bee hive. We like to learn from one another, and are constantly expanding our knowledge on various topics. Our interests lie in epigenetics, herbal remedies, cooking, nutrition, climate crisis, psychology, ecology, ecovillages and intentional communities.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for engaged and willing individuals (over 22 y.o.) who like to learn useful skills about gardening and house related work. We have a vegetable garden, a permaculture garden, a herb garden, a small orchard, a small forest, a small pond and a lot of good, fresh air. There is a wild bee friendly meadow, as well as regular lawn, where grass is cut more regularly. Bushes grow in abundance (and they need to be cut, says my father, lover of cutting)
    There will be an opportunity to help renovate a house next door which suffered from a minor fire in the living room.
    We have plans to build a wooden shed in our small forest.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Korean: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bright guest room with a separate toilet, equipped with a king-sized bed, a table, drawers, and an old TV with a DVD player to Your own disposal. We do not have cable television, but we do have unlimited WiFi.
    A big kitchen located downstairs is always full of supplies, there is no shortage of food in our home, especially during the summer with fresh fruits and vegetables from the garden. You are welcome to help yourself to food whenever you feel like it, we try and have at least 2 meals together. Breakfast depends on who wakes up when, but lunch and dinner we usually prepare and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to visit Warsaw, we drive there every now and then. If you want to go sightseeing more often or explore other Polish cities, there is good public transport from our village, a bus gets you directly to the train station in Grodzisk Mazowiecki, from where You can reach Warsaw in 40min with the train. Public transport as well as food is still very cheap in comparison to other European countries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h/week, may vary depending on weather


Host ref number: 837593892896