Living on an organic farm, running a CSA and enjoying our beautiful region in Savoie, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone ! (En francais un peu plus bas)

    I got the chance to give life again to a little piece of paradise at La Bridoire, in Savoie. The land, surrounded by the forest, was used to raise goats and I’m turning it now into an organic farm (only veggies).
    There are a lot of nice hikes to do around the place. I’m also living in Chambery, which is close to mountains and a few lakes to spend our days off :)
    I can host you in a comfortable trailer located right under the threes and at only a few steps of the cabin.
    The cabin is the place where I live during the week and that I share with everyone with pleasure. There is all we need inside to make a fire, to take a shower, to cook delicious meals, to relax… An ideal place to share and enjoy a sweet evening after a working day :)

    I’ll ask you to work 6 hrs per day from Monday to Thursday. The farm is really new and everything needs to be done. A good motivation is required but the tasks can be very diverse :)

    On Monday and Tuesday, we usually water and take care of the transplants and what is already growing on the farm. Then we harvest the veggies on Wednesday, we wash them and then we do the deliveries on two different spots on Chambery. On Thursday we get back on the farm to sow, make news transplants, water, work on many different project, buildings, etc... We usually don't get bored :)

    I'm working on the Friday but then I often stay for the week-end in Chambery because I also live there in a nice and pretty big house with two housemates. You will be, of course, really welcome there! :)

    In a general way, I prefer the people who come and work with me stay several weeks but I’ll read all your messages with attention :)

    If you are interested by coming work with me and enjoy our beautiful region, or if you have just a simple question, feel free to contact me!

    Happy travelling to all of you!


    Bonjour à tous !

    J’ai la chance de redonner vie à un petit coin de paradis à La Bridoire, en Savoie. Le terrain, entouré par la forêt, accueillait avant un troupeau de chèvres et je le transforme maintenant en un lieu de maraîchage bio (uniquement légumes).
    Beaucoup de belles randonnées sont à faire aux alentours. Je vis aussi à Chambéry, qui est proche de quelques massifs montagneux et de quelques lacs pour occuper nos jours de repos.
    Je peux accueillir une personne dans une caravane confortable située sous les arbres à quelques pas du chalet.
    Chalet dans lequel je vis la semaine et que je partage avec plaisir avec tout le monde. Il y a de quoi faire un petit feu, se doucher, cuisiner des bon petits repas, se détendre, etc… Un lieu de vie idéal pour apprécier les douces soirées qui suivent les journées de travail.

    On travaillera environs 6 heures par jours du Lundi au Jeudi. La ferme étant toute nouvelle, il y a beaucoup à faire. Une bonne motivation est de mise mais les tâches à effectuer peuvent être très variées.
    Le Lundi et Mardi, on prend soins de ce qui pousse déjà sur la ferme et on arrose. On s'occupe des récoltes le Mercredi, on lave les légumes et on les livres à deux endroits différents à Chambéry. Le Jeudi, on revient à la ferme pour semer, faire de nouveaux semis, arroser, travailler sur plein de projet différents de jardin ou de petites constructions...

    Je travail à la ferme le vendredi puis je reste souvent le week-end à Chambéry car je vis en colocation dans une grande maison où vous serez bien sûr accueillis avec plaisir :)

    De manière générale, je préfère que les personnes qui viennent chez moi restent plusieurs semaines (3 minimum) mais je lirai tout vos message avec attention :)

    Si vous êtes intéressé pour venir apprécier notre magnifique région ou si vous avez juste une question, n’hésitez pas à me contacter !

    Bon voyage à tous !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    About learning, even if I'm kind of a beginner as a farmer, I share with pleasure everything I know about growing vegetables, farm management, rain water gathering and watering system. Plus, I think that living on an organic farm, doing good things and eating healthy food is always a good experience :)

  • Help

    Help

    The farm is really new and everything needs to be done :)
    So I need help to create the growing beds and then to germinate the seeds, to plant, to take care of the plants and then to harvest, wash and sell the veggies :) Plus there is 1 million projects that could be done on the land to make it always more comfortable !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be hosted in a comfortable trailer close to a nice cabin that I share with pleasure :) There is the electricity in the trailer, a dry toilet close to it and the shower and the kitchen are in the cabin

    Once the veggies will be ready the major part of the food will come from the farm, until then I go to the local farmers market.
    About cooking, I like when we take turns to do it, that a good way to discover news tastes and recipes :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land is located in a very nice place in Savoie. There are many many beautiful hikes to do around here, also many lakes and it's surrounded mountains.
    I also live in Chambery during the week end. From there, we can easily (by train or carpooling) go to Grenoble, Lyon, Annecy, Turin and Geneva for a round-trip during a week end for example. Those cities are beautiful and rich of nice events :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hrs per day, Monday to Thursday

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 831398436475