Help Maintain our beautiful property near Port Macquarie, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/03/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    108

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Situated just half an hour from the sparkling beaches of Port Macquarie rests our charming property set across 23 acres of lush valley lands. On its way to being self-contained with rainwater for all drinking, washing and gardening needs, composting toilet and solar water heating we need your help to further harmonise our home with the environment and create the ultimate haven away from the technocratic world.

    The house itself sits at the highest point of the property and views beautiful rolling green hills and stunning skies. When we purchased the property in 2004 it was obvious that it had originally been built to blend with its surrounds with its majority timber construction but it was also only partially completed. Since then we have been working to improve its structure, landscape areas around the house and imbue it with an inviting atmosphere for those who wish to visit.

    Currently we have growing a handful of fruiting trees such as mango, banana, avocado, and macadamia. We would like to set up an organic vegetable patch.


    For an idea on what you might be working on with us:
    1. Improving landscaping around the house with stone walls, bright and aromatic flora and inviting garden pathways
    2. Planting vegetables and herbs
    3. Woodwork around the house and shed
    4. General house maintenance
    5. Mowing and gardening
    6. Noxious weed control

    Each week we would appreciate 25 hours of work for 7 days of food and accommodation. Happy to consider dietary requirements. We try to eat well and love cooking. We are not vegetarians but don't mind if you are.


    Living here:
    Pete - owner of the property, easy-going, savvy with all things technical and electrical, likes to talk, learning the guitar,..
    Billy (part time) - youngest son of Pete, 15 years old, great bass player and lead singer in a rock band.
    Banjo - black male labrador
    Monte - ginger male cat

    ACCOMMODATION
    We are able to accommodate 2-3 people. We can only guarantee a two week maximum stay. An extension upon your stay may be considered.

    POINTS OF INTEREST
    We have fast wifi. (12Mb/sec download 1Mb/sec upload)
    We have a small library for the readers and eager English learners.
    A hot-tub by the house to enjoy fresh star-filled evenings.
    We are happy to take you in to Port Macquarie where there are a number of beautiful beaches to choose from.
    Sydney is only 4 hours drive away or 6 hours on the train.

    We look forward to hearing from you and will do our best to make your stay with us wonderful & memorable.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks Include:
    Landscaping areas around the house
    Planting organic vegetables crop
    General house maintenance/cleaning
    Gardening
    Re-decking our balconies

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room, bedding and towels.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours 5 days

Pete
Pete - owner, father of 6
These two are inseparable - Banjo and Monte
Banjo loves the beach and loves everyone.
Do you like food with fresh chilli? We do.
Our view
Lorikeets, parrots, finches, cockatoo, kookaburras, are everywhere.
Our local wildlife are quite bold.
The view from the house looking north in the morning.
We have loads of beautiful Australian hardwood trees on the property.









Host ref number: 829328397642