Come and help us around the House, Garden, Children, Dog and more in London, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 578 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️PLEASE READ OUR FULL PROFILE BEOFRE SENDING AN APPLICATION*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️


    THANK YOU!!!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Please no strong scents or perfumes. Thank you! *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    *️️️*️️️We are currently looking for French speakers to join us so that the children can continue to learn and grow in speaking French. Thank you!!*️️️*️️️

    Hello! We are a Canadian/American/British family living in Zone 3 in London. We've been In London since January 2014 and are loving it!

    We just bought a house in zone 3 that needs work. We are hoping to have someone join our venture and just muck in where-ever needed. One day that might be taking care of lunch for everyone and cleaning, another day it might be clearing shrubs in the back garden, another day might be laying lino flooring, installing shelving, repairing flooring... etc.

    Right now we need help with gardening, painting, building sandboxes, house cleaning, craft making, lifting heavy stuff, automating the house, tiling, hanging doors, loving on the dog, meal planning, throwing out the rubbish that the previous owners decided to leave behind, etc... generally doing all the stuff to finish this house and make it a home. :-)

    We are looking for someone willing to help in all areas mentioned and more... basically an extra set(s) of hands around here.

    We are not looking for au pairs, our children have a nanny who cares for them. At some point, you may take them to the park when others are busy. If you speak French there would be interaction with the children, playing or reading in French.

    Our new home is close to a couple of lovely green spaces and shopping. It is 7 minutes to walk to a train that will get you to London Bridge station in 20 minutes, and another station that will get you to King's Cross/St. Pancras in 30 minutes.

    We speak both English (KC) and French (Alan) in the home. The children understand and can communicate in both languages. We are happy to help with learning English if that is what you wish.

    If there is anything else that you'd like to know about our family please ask!


    If you happen to be around for meals, assistance in the preparation of the food and the clean-up afterwards would be greatly appreciated. This would NOT be considered part of your working hours - this is simply what it means to live in a home with others.

    We try to eat together and eat the same food. We feel that children learn good eating habits by sitting with us and eating the same food that we do. The children are expected to try a small bite of new food and food that they don't necessarily like. We are extremely happy to experience new foods from different cultures.

    We do not wear shoes in the house. You will probably wish to bring slippers.

    We try very hard to not use profanity around the children. (Nor say stuff like "Oh my god!")

    We try very hard to not be on our phones around the children, beyond necessary.

    We try as much as possible to conserve resources. We do not turn on the water and then walk away and simply let it run and run. :-/ When we are washing dishes, we will put HOT water in a tub/bowl/pot rather than washing one at a time under running water. We turn the heat down at night and try to remember to turn off lights when we leave a room. Please answer this question when you send your application: "Do you wash your dishes in hot or cold water?" If you do not answer this question, your application will not be considered. We also follow "When it is yellow, let it mellow. When it is brown, flush it down". (Lol)

    Eamonn is 7 and Maisie is 6. They are busy with an exuberance for life. We have many activities throughout the week. They are home-educated but have many classes or lessons throughout the week.

    We are hoping that you will want to spend some time observing how we interact with the children before stepping in and getting involved. We prefer a slow and gentle approach with the children. It's child-directed play and learning. I do not draw pictures for them, I talk them through their own drawing if they want help. We are careful about not scripting how they should play. Often this means that they play in ways that I would never have imagined. They figure out how to use an object in a way that I never would have thought. It's a joy to watch them learn all by themselves. We are hoping that you will be happy to let them run wild, laugh, dance and be crazy, and just watch if they are happy with whatever they are doing, even if it is not how you would do it. We'd love it if you would read, read, read and then read some more. We are hoping that you would be able to direct them to something when they seem bored or at odds with themselves and then stand back while they get engrossed with it. We are hoping that you are up for admiring the dress-up clothes no matter what they choose. We are hoping that you are willing to use positive language, for example: when showing them that they might need to change their shoes to the other foot instead of telling them that they are 'wrong'. (We say something along the lines of: You might find that your shoes are more comfortable if you try them on the other foot.) We are hoping that you will want to learn the language that we try to use with our children that is empowering and fosters pride in themselves.

    We're crazy like that. ;-)

    We LOVE music and dancing.

    Finnegan is a 15 month old Australian Labradoodle. She follows mama around when I am home but will demand play from anyone in the house. She is hypo-allergenic and non-shedding. She needs regular walks.

    And now for the biggest one:

    If you believe that pink and dresses are only for girls, make comments like: "boys will be boys", call little girls "princesses" and little boys "tough guy"... You need not apply.

    Thank you for reading everything.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help


    We'd love someone who is willing to pick up some of the cooking responsibilities.
    We also need people who are willing to speak French with our children.
    There are also gardening opportunities along with building/construction opportunities as written above.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation


    We have a spare room just for you. :-) It is a large double room with a wardrobe. The main bath has a shower/bathtub and is shared with the family. The house is basic but comfortable.
    We have a bike for your use, provided you are not exceptionally tall. ;-)
    We are non-smokers and will only accept non-smokers. Thank you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is close to a couple of lovely green spaces and some basic shopping. It is 7 minutes to walk to a train that will get you to London Bridge station in 20 minutes, and another station that will get you to King's Cross/St. Pancras in 30 minutes.

    We have lived communally before and have loved it. We love the exchange of ideas and culture. We are travelers but aren't traveling right now so it's lovely to have the travelers come to us. It's also wonderful to experience London through other people's eyes.
    We've also been involved with Couchsurfing for a few years and have hosted over 150 people for anywhere from 1 day to 10 months (in various different programs). We have been hosted ourselves in Canada, the US, Spain and more. We love the sharing community.
    We are the type of people to sit and enjoy quiet evenings engaged in our own activities, especially after a challenging day when needing a wind-down, but are happy to chat into the evening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 825856213245