Help us creating a self-sufficient regenerative farm in a village in Sollefteå, the North of Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help our family out building up our selfsufficient regenerative homestead in the north.

    We live in the small village of Gässjö in the region of Ångermanland in northern Sweden. We run a homestead of 8 hectares with 5 hectares of forest and 3 of meadow/pasture and garden. We have lived on this farm since may 2019 so we are still in the process of establishing, but we have lived in the same village for several years. In the village we are used to cooperating between neighbours and often help each other out with different projects. We also have music rehearsal room and a common outdoor kitchen that is currently in the making.

    Matthias is a musician, and passionate about plants, gardening and most other things on the homestead. He works as a music teacher a few days a week.

    Helena is a fulltime mom of Ester and the animals and plants of the homestead. She came to Gässjö after several years of working on different farms in Sweden to gain experience and knowledge to one day settle on her own farm. She is in love with animals and would preferably have horses, cows, pigs, sheep, goats, rabbits etc, but also sees the point of waiting a year or two and focusing on the garden and buildings. She originates from Denmark.

    Ester is a strong-willed, funny, happy (sometimes not), curious etc toddler. So far she is staying at home and not going to daycare. She is in love with animals, she likes to explore the garden and take walks around the village and in the forest.

    On the homestead also lives hens+chickens, cats+kittens and bees. In the village also lives goats with which we sometimes help out (milking, feeding, moving pastures, making hay, fencing), dogs and cows that graze partly on our land.

    This year our focus is on the garden that we build up in no-dig ways, with a blend of high intensive market garden beds and more organicly shaped perennial beds, with trees and bushes in between. We also have building/restoring projects, since all the buildings are old and in need of care. Our main project for the latter part of the summer is to repair the roof of our cabin, beautifully located down by the river, which is going to be our future accommodation for volunteers.

    The village is situated in the middle of the forest, close to very beautiful lakes and rivers. On hot days we often take a dip in the river running just below our farm and if we want to take a swim we go to the nearest forestlake.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will parttake in the daily life of building up and maintaining farmsystems while living community and family life. You will learn all the sides of running a small scale family farm, and will also have the possibility to dig deeper into certain aspects if you stay longer, such as gardening, keeping animals, forestry, wild herbs etc. We invite you to join our process and become a part of the village.
    In your free time you can discover the surrounding nature, with forests, marshlands, mountains, rivers and lakes.
    Late summer and autumn is perfect for picking berries of all kinds, fishing, hiking, etc.
    Many of our neighbours have interesting projects going on, and we encourage you to get to know them.

  • Help

    Help

    We prefer volunteers that plan to stay 2 weeks or more.
    We imagine that we can be quite flexible with the work tasks if there is something that volunteers are specifically interested of learning or has skills in. We imagine that volunteers will share with us the day-to-day tasks such as cooking/cleaning the kitchen, and if someone feel like it and has a good connection with Ester we would also love volunteers to hang out with her so we can work on farm projects. But our main interest is that people should do what they are interested of, so they feel inspired to help out on the farm.

    The summers big projects are:
    - Restoring the roof of the cabin by the river so we can host volunteers and guests there
    - Building a door for the earth cellar
    - Making more vegetables beds and planting more trees and perennials in the garden
    - Harvesting wild herbs and vegetables
    - Renovating the windows of our house
    - Building a mulch toilet
    - Hosting and joining an anarchist camp in the village
    - Hay harvest
    - Building a moveable chicken house

    The every-day/several days a week tasks:
    - Cooking
    - Cleaning the kitchen
    - Feeding the hens and chickens
    - Milking the goats
    - Cutting grass with scythe
    - Weeding and watering the garden

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will for the moment be offered to sleep in tents, since we don't have possibility to host in our family house and our volunteer house is not yet finished. We can provide tents, madresses, sleepingbags, etc. Volunteers can use our house as they need in daytime.
    There is also a possibility to stay in a small cabin on our neighbours land very close to us.
    Please ask us in advance if you would like this, since it is not always available.
    We eat meat, but welcome people of all diets if everyone can live in peace and harmony with their different diets ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest place to pick up volunteers will be Edsele which you can reach by public transportation from Sollefteå.
    Choose this alternative if possible, but buses are not very frequent, so other possibilities are that we pick you up in either Sollefteå, Hammarstrand or Näsåker, depending on where you travel from.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The old willow and the river by the cabin
This is the cabin by the river that needs renovating for future volunteers and guests to live in
Cabbage in no-dig beds may 2020
The no-dig beds where build autumn 2019 and here cabbage has been planted into them may 2020
”Faxälven” near by
The house we live in
Host ref number: 822437542526