Live in a beautiful rural farming area and help on a smallholding with animals on the Black Ilse, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I left South Coast England to live on a smallholding on the Black Isle in Northern Scotland which now has 40 rare breed cows and calves, 3 donkeys, 2 pigs, 7 piglets, 44 friendly hens and two tame hens, 5 Gotland ewes and a Jacob ram, a polytunnel and panoramic views. It is a lot of physical work but it is great being outside and surrounded by views and animals!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beautiful rural farming area. Learn about working with different kinds of animals and looking after a smallholding, fencing, digging, planting, maybe dry stone walling, building wooden shed. Practise English (I am ESOL qualified) Learn the history of this part of Scotland and visit amazing places in the Highlands. Meet other people living on the Black Ilse at a social event such as a meal or a short visit. Can meet up with other Workawayers locally. Occasionally Scottish events are held, and there are Saturday local markets or small scale concerts or performances held from time to time.

  • Help

    Help

    Come and help on a smallholding (small farm) with lots of animals and poultry, a large polytunnel and a wood cabin with log burner to live in. You may be doing some of the following: feeding hay to cows and calves, bringing the dairy cow into the shed, stroking her new calf, checking water troughs; mixing up the feed, then feeding 2 sows and 7 noisy piglets; letting out, feeding, refilling water containers, cleaning out, and enjoying the 44 very friendly hens , collecting, boxing and labelling eggs; looking after 2 beautiful donkeys and a gentle donkey foal, filling their hay nets and feeding donkey chaff, brushing (which they love) cleaning out their hooves and mucking out the stable; feeding the 5 greedy Gotland ewes and the Jacob ram. You are likely to be an animal lover and confident around animals for this workaway.
    You may also do some donkey poo-picking, breaking up pallets for firewood, putting up electric fences, mending fences, tidying up around the site, moving bales in a trailer, so you would need to be energetic and fit as a lot is physical activity. There is a quad bike and trailer which are useful for some jobs. There is also a Mitsubishi 4 x4 and a Bobcat for use on the smallholding.
    I am especially looking for someone who is keen to cook. Also someone who is good at Facebook!
    If you have carpentry skills that would be highly welcome, principally to make a lean-to shed for storage, or skills in putting up fencing, repairing a felt roof, putting up wooden rails for a camping area, or hanging farm gates, that would be a huge bonus.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single or double room in a mobile home. The mobile home is well equipped with expansive, panoramic views. Shower room, kitchen and sitting room. If you do the cooking, I provide the ingredients and we go shopping once a week or we take cooking in turns. There is super fast internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walk in the forestry or in the fields, by the sea or on footpaths nearby.
    I can give lifts to places when I am going shopping or doing other tasks in Inverness or Dingwall.
    The buses go to Cromarty or to Inverness via small towns like Rosemarkie, Fortrose and Avoch.
    You can get a train to Kyle of Lochalsh or Helmsdale from Dingwall and back in a day, and enjoy the amazing scenery and a visit to these small towns. You can get to Loch Ness by bus via Inverness.
    You can get a bus to visit Cromarty, a small town on the Cromarty Firth with interesting houses, small museums, art gallery and walks along the coast or take a walk through the woods to the cliff top (South Sutor). The bus from Cromarty (26) goes via Rosemarkie (lovely beach with beach cafe), Fortrose small town with cafes, hand made jewellery and art shop, cathedral ruins, Episcopalian Church, small harbour and walks, Avoch fishing village with a good walk along the waterfront, Inverness city with wide range of shops and also walk along the River Ness or the canal towards Loch Ness, or get the bus from Inverness to Loch Ness
    If you drive and are over 25, a car (20 year old VW Golf) may be available for use. You would pay for the additional insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 regular hours a day 5 days a week (8-10am and 1 hr late afternoon) and 10 hours help on site10 hours


Host ref number: 821183795473