Experience Family Life in a Secluded Bush Setting outside Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 254 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an easy going family of four, no, now five! We have a lifestyle property in Bombay about 45 minutes from downtown Auckland (by car). Jon works from home, and I take care of the household and our sons who are 5, 3 and new born. We have a lovely dog Ted who is a spoodle, and some chickens. We live in an amazing location surrounded by NZ's largest tree ferns and native Kanuka trees.

    We love to meet new people from all over the world and share experiences and good conversation. When you stay with us you are also naturally involved with household activities which will include playing with the kids... and dog :)

    We are also open to longer stays of 1 month or more to help with the daily routines of the family, if you are looking to settle for a while in one place. If this is of interest to you please get in touch.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We include guests in our daily life. This usually involves a weekly visit to local markets for fresh produce, attending a play centre for the children, visiting friends (they're all very welcoming to our visitors) and being involved with all that we do.

    We also like to take guests to experience the famous ice cream shop nearby and can show you a beautiful bush walk with stunning views.

    Our house it situated in a native bush setting. It doesn't get much more Kiwi than this! Sitting on our large deck watching native birds, or at night, a stunning star lit sky. We even have glow worms to see!

    Just let us know if there is anything in particular you are interested in and we can try to help you out.

  • Help

    Help

    To mix in well with our family we think you are a single person or a couple who loves children, dogs and enjoys the outdoors. We are looking for self motivated and outgoing people who like to get on with things and get them done!

    Volunteer work in our family would include helping out with daily household tasks such as preparing meals/cooking, doing dishes after meals, tidying, cleaning, hanging up washing and assisting in helping look after the children.

    * Right now with our new born son we could use some extra help in doing fun projects inside or outdoors with our 3 and 5 year olds. They love to be active playing or exploring, and currently I’m preoccupied a lot of the time with our baby. If you have experience relevant to this please tell us about it :)

    Besides the everyday tasks there will also be certain projects to work on in the garden or on the property. As we have a large property there is always something to do outside. Weeding, mowing lawns, planting, digging, watering, using weed eater, spraying weeds, collecting fire wood from the forest etc...

    We will all enjoy getting to know you and are happy to be able to give you a great experience of family life in the Kiwi Bush! We hope to give you an opportunity to develop and share some of your skills and share with us your honest, respectful and fun personality. We also hope to offer you an experience that is different than just traveling the 'tourist route".

    If this sounds like you and what you would like to do, please send us a message.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 2 story house. On the lower level you will have your own bedroom with queen size bed, your own bathroom and living space. We are happy to provide breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast and Lunch are self serve and then we have an early family dinner together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you don't have a car we are happy to pick you up from the nearest train or bus station. You can go by train to Pukekohe from Britomart in Auckland. Or there is a bus stop close by where most bus companies stop (companies like Intercity, Naked bus etc). If you come by plane we can possibly pick you up from the airport, or there are buses that link to the train.

    Our location offers excellent access to the Coromandel Peninsula, West and East Coast beaches, local tramps (hikes), mountain bike tracks, and the Hanua ranges. We are happy to drop you off to the train or bus, or hitchhiking is a well accepted practice in NZ. There are lots of nice parks and beaches to explore in Auckland, museums, an art gallery, cafe's, shops and the normal city buzz. You can also take a ferry out to the islands in the harbour or stay a night on Waiheke Island.

    In the region south of Auckland there are bushwalks, mountain bike tracks, botanical gardens and lots more to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs a week, 5 hours / 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 819524816419