Help us with permaculture projects and childcare in the Swedish countryside!

Country

Sweden

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    409

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a German/American family with our two wild children Aurelia (6) and Morris (3) living in a little old half-renovated farmhouse in beautiful open landscape with a big garden and a kitten. Marcus is a furniture-maker from Dresden by trade but can build or fix anything under the sun and has a sawmill. Vanessa was born in New York and has worked part-time as a Waldorf teacher for students with special needs at a school on a farm but is currently working alongside Marcus.

    We are building a house-on-wheels (originally meant to move and live in... but we have decided to leave it where it stands for renting out) and are living as sustainably as we can while finishing renovations on the farmhouse. We have had many animals in the past (goats, cows, and chickens) but are currently taking a break in order to travel more. Vanessa is still very into cheesemaking and makes cheese every week with cow and goat milk she gets from a friend.

    Our biggest project right now is converting our bit of land into a little permaculture paradise! We need hardworking hands happy to dig and move small mountains, make a pond, build stone walls, mulch berry bushes, and so on. Marcus could also need help related to the sawmill: cutting logs, stacking boards, making firewood. It´s extremely necessary that our volunteers really like kids and can also help play with ours from time to time.

    We welcome volunteers of all nationalities but it is very important for us that you speak fluent English!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn about permaculture design and gardening, preparing boards from logs, and American/German/Swedish culture. You could learn about cheesemaking, fermenting vegetables, and wild medicinal herbs. In late August, we could forage for mushrooms together in the enormous forests nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly need help with permaculture landscaping, firewood-making, and childcare. Cooking could be nice :-) Possibly help with renovating or fence-making if you have some building experience. There´s always regular garden work like weeding, harvesting, preserving, etc. Aurelia and Morris would also really love to do art and be silly with you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in a cozy rustic loft in the barn with an outdoor toilet plus outdoor shower or, if it´s cold, a room upstairs in our house. We would have meals together as a family. We eat some organic meat but can accommodate vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are nice places for forest walks here and a couple of little lakes for swimming. You might very well see a moose or two. We live in between the towns of Tidaholm and Falköping, pretty easy to get to by bus. You can borrow our bicycles and explore the rolling countryside. If you want to visit Gothenburg, we´re just an hour train ride away. If you are horse-interested, we can arrange for you to ride with one of our friends who has horses. The beautiful big Vättern lake is not far by car, and we could take a trip there together.

    No smokers, please. Marcus quit not too long ago, so it´s sensitive ;-)

    *️️️*️️️*️️️Also, in case you are concerned about our crazy low reply time... this is because we took a long break from volunteers without officially pausing our profile-- we just put in our calendar that we were closed, and the people who wrote to us anyway ended up getting very late replies because we weren't expecting anyone to contact us! Now things are different, we are open July/August, and we are checking our mail daily :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Marcus working on our house-on-wheels project, built onto an old truck trailer with wood from trees Marcus took down and cut himself.
Inside the house-on-wheels with a view from the kitchen towards the sleeping loft. The cowskin on the floor is from a bull we once had (we used to have cows). Still much to do!
Vanessa with baby Morris.
Fresh summer milk from Daisy.
Fermented beets, carrots, and dried apricots with ginger, mmm.
January sunrise.
Exploring the forest.
Morris by the strawberries.
Porcini mushrooms sliced for drying.
The greenhouse in winter.
Marcus and Aurelia washing the roof.
Fresh goat cheese with homegrown garlic and sage.
Morris in the garden.
Aurelia with Daisy. Daisy makes milk every summer without a kid ("maiden milker"). Daisy now lives at a friend's farm, but Vanessa milks her every Friday.

Host ref number: 817936439668