Moonshine and olive pickers required Abituriera, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Off-grid Castle.....almost finished .....

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to read this. My names Chris, I started my adventure in March last year. I packed my tools and two dogs into van and ended up buying a hectare and ruins in center Portugal mountain range.
    My property are located on the crest of a mountain neighboring the traditional village of Abituriera, just outside Oleiros in Castelo branco district.
    Im now year down the line and life has changed and i never look back.
    I have completely rebuilt and remodeled one of the ruins and is 95% finished. I call it my castle as it has mini turrets and stands very proud set in a landscaped garden,
    The two bedrooms on the upper floor over look the zezere valley and river. With the sun setting on the horizon above every night. The house is surrounded by woodland so you re completely emerged in nature with no other people living on my side of the valley.
    The views are unrivalled anywhere else in the country/ West facing means sun all day and sunsets illuminating the surrounding mountains everynight.
    The house is two bedrooms , Kitchen, livingroom and bathroom. All rooms have electric. The bathroom and kitchen both have hot and cold running water. the bathroom has a waterfall shower built into the bedrock, bath and a flushing toilet
    So after a year of graft the end is close,

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a master builder/ civil engineer. i can teach you many building skills if you want to help or come have a lazy peaceful time wandering and exploring the mountain ranges

  • Help

    Help

    im looking for extra hands to help me collect medronho immediately and later olives. I have free range of the valley i live in which includes lots of abandoned ruins as well as a few friends property's a bit further afield. Plenty of fruit up for grabs and we can even come to an arrangement so you can see the processes and final products

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have made the beds in the house. The second bedroom has a big natural wood bunk bed which face patio doors so the view from the bed is the mountain range and night sky. Food wise i could supply breakfast and tea but i am a meat eater

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is located on the Grz. which is a hiking trail across the mountains. There is many abandoned villages close by, river beaches and waterfalls.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 811863745817