Come join our family of four in lovely Mendocino coastline, Northern California

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four...sometimes five. Lovely coastal town of Little River, just three miles south of the beautiful village of Mendocino. Large, spacious house with over two acres of land. We are trying to turn the land into a sustainable farm with garden, chickens, and hopefully more. Kayaking, diving, hiking, beaches, theater, cafes, organics, farmers markets are a part of our beautiful community. Wildlife is abundant here. There are some beautiful trails to explore from here. But I must say that it is remote. There is no nightlife per se for young people. The bus runs once a day into the village and once a day back. I run into town some days and am glad to take you.
    We eat healthy and drink wine! I am a yoga instructor. We are about 1/2 from the nearest beach. California is in a drought, so we are super water conscious here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English and Spanish and this is one of the MOST BEAUTIFUL places on this earth. Much to explore and I am glad to help.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the garden harvesting, weeding, etc. Also I have some painting and staining around the property to be done. Depending upon your skills, some general maintenance type of repairs would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room with shared bath to offer. 25 hours of help is asked a week. I cook dinner and supply food for breakfast and lunch (that you can make on your own). Plenty of room in the kitchen for you to store your snacks or make any extra meals. Could work with single parent with small child as well. There is also a loft above a workspace that could house another helper if I have two at a time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses that run along hwy 1 for transport that can take you in and out of the village of Mendocino. A small market, gas station, restaurant are within walking distance. The town of Mendocino is just 3 miles away. The beach is just a quarter mile. Kayaking, diving, hiking are the main attractions here. Mendocino has a lovely community with theater, shops, cafes and restaurants. I teach yoga one day a week in town and you are welcome to join me in class or hang out in town. Hours can be flexible. Again, we are remote here, so best for people not needing a lot of social stimulation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Great internet connection. You space has a nice little work table and chair.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I don't have sewer hook up. Although I have an outdoor bathroom which can be used.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Depends upon the situation.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 798898486937