Help my daughter with languages in Bristol, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 643 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am Silvia and I live with my daughter aged 13, we live in Bristol 10 min walking from the city center. I am Portuguese and speak English , my daughter is fluent in English/Portuguese.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending of your interests we can help you developing your English or Portuguese, you can use the musical instruments (guitars, keyboard, hang, hukalele), use the circus equipment we have (juggling, hula-ups, unicycle, diablo, flower sticks, ...) or do some sport basketball hoop. For language exchange or other the Meet up groups or language exchange groups are very active here in Bristol, at the moment of course theres not much happening.

    We are also workaways and do home exchange so we used to share and to adapt to different people and situations.

    You will have time to visit around the city and you always can get an entire day off to visit places further away.
    So you can visit different attractions, we provide accommodation and most of all friendship.

  • Help

    Help

    Its difficult to reply to all the emails. Apologize in advance. Please don't take it personally if you do not receive a response. Happy and safe travel*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

    I am looking for a female volunteer to help my daughter with languages and some general help around the house. It will be around 3 hr per day maximum 5 days a week. A mother with her child is very welcome as well staying up to 3 weeks. We can be interested in someone who can teach arts in general, like circus skills, magic, piano, drums, crafts or drawing or any other or languages like French or Spanish.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This time we especially looking for a french or alternatively a spanish speaker female. Schools are closed due to the lockdown so it would be a good opportunity for my daughter to improve her languages. We will need someone quite independent because i spend half of the day working and theres not much entertainment at the moment, schools, gyms, and shops are closed. For now theres no retrictions to go outdoors, to walk around the city, in the parks/nature or practice sports.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are living in a 2 bedroom flat near the city center with patio and a nice shared garden. You will be sleeping in a small bedroom improvised in the back corridor, that is not being used. The house is very quiet as it is away from the main road. You will have to provide your own food, but we have pasta, rice, milk for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bristol is multicultural and the unofficial capital of the West of England. The city is famous for its Georgian and Victorian architecture, street art (Bansky, 3Dom, Ask...) underground music (especially Trip Hop and Drum and Bass, Reggae, massime attack ), circus tradition (circomedia, invisible circus...) animation (Wallace and Gromit and others), annual hot air balloon fiesta, green credentials, aerospace industry and Brunel's legacy of civil engineering, (SS Great Britain, Clifton Suspension bridge).

    Bristol has a lot to offer of its own and is an excellent base for exploring the West Country. It has a huge choice of bars, restaurants and shops. It is one of the most culturally vibrant cities in the South of England, hosting a wide variety of visual arts, theatre, speciality shopping and live music.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hrs per day, 5 days









Host ref number: 797235465844