Plenty of opportunities to learn and try new things on a ranch in remote Chilcotin Region of Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there. Names Lucas

    Currently ranching in the Chilcotin Region of beautiful British Columbia, Canada. Roughly 800 Kms drive or a quick flight north from Vancouver.

    My aim here on workaway is to find adventurous, intrigued individuals who would like to volunteer on a traditional cattle ranch. The location is remote yet near a small community, which makes for a quite comfortable setting. Work will be a wide range of tasks depending on the time of year, that being said there are roles that would suite various people depending on your personal interests and strengths. Plenty of opportunities to learn and try new things.

    Work around a ranch can be hard and time consuming but on your visit you will find a good balance between helping out and enjoying the experience as a whole. The local area has lots to offer, alpine rivers and lakes, mountains and meadows. Rodeo season is always entertaining to attend, or maybe even jump on something? Sign up for a canoe race at the local community event or enjoy a calm paddle on one of the many lakes right here on the property. Various hiking trails, fishing and camping near by or visit Tweedsmuir Park and see grizzly bear, moose and other wildlife. Might see a bit of that right here at the ranch occasionally too.

    The riding.
    We have horses and if its your idea of fun as it is ours, you will enjoy that side of things. Riding is some of the more rewarding and enjoyable work but if your not interested there is still alot to do!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So much to learn, ranching has a wide variety of work involved. See how the cowboys work and care for livestock or tag along on a afternoon fishing trip. Canada has so much to offer outside of the city, being self sufficient means everyday can be a learning opportunity. Local history and culture may be your cup of tea wether its from conversation or a good book. Simply sitting down and eating a meal while having a conversation and a laugh is a cultural exchange to be enjoyed.

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned the work we would like help with revolves around cattle, horses and ranch maintenance. Always side projects on the go also. Living and working together creates a little work which needs attention along the way. To name a few of these general topics:


    Feeding livestock
    Building & maintaining fences
    Driving tractors & trucks
    Branding & processing
    Cutting firewood

    Ever help build a log cabin before? We run a lumber mill and do a little carpentry work now and then. Practice your skills helping out or teach us something new.

    Help running mill
    Falling trees
    Cutting trails

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Move right in and become part of the team. You would have a room on the ranch, pretty basic but comfortable. We have wifi but limited at times due to business priorities.
    Meals are provided and we like to eat together while enjoying the down time to laugh and socialize. We all pitch in and take turns cooking a meal or helping with the dishes, very easy going like staying with friends or family. We have had vegetarians before so dont be shy, we can make things work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Feel free to get in contact for more info.


    Cheers,

    -Lucas

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 786816267142