Help look after Old Decoy, gardens and footpaths and with deer management projects near Ipswich, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 52 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    We live at a place that is part of a 3000 acre estate, in the middle of a woods and fields, I am the deer manager on the estate and look after some of the public footpaths that pass through the estate. My wife has a gardening job that is her own enterprise. We are also close to the River Orwell and this is a beautiful place to walk. Would suit couples interested in the county living.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    I met a couple of workawayers whilst visiting Ireland and thought that we could offer the same, would be good for a couple to visit and work together or with me and my wife.
    Help would include grass cutting, path clearing, some painting work to high seats for deer management.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Large bedroom with double bed, share the house with me and my wife. We have TV/CD player in bedroom and in the living room,unlimited Internet/wifi in all rooms. We are only looking for none smoking COUPLES for this workaway.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    London is a one hour train ride from Ipswich, We can offer rides to the local town (Ipswich) Felixstowe or Woodbridge are a short trip away 8 miles, pubs a bit of a walk away or you can use our bikes to travel. Highland cows in the field to the bottom of our garden. My interests are birds and nature in general I also do some hunting of Deer, my wife Patricia likes gardening, knitting sewing etc. We have four Nova Scotia Duck Tolling retrievers that love walks and trips to the river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photo taken by one of our lovely workawayers, Marion Faillet
Little bit of grass cutting maybe! Just to help out at our friends home,stunning view across the River Orwell.
This is one of our friends garden that we look after.
Part of the garden we look after in the photo below.
Southern Marsh Orchids in the meadow beside the house and walk to the pub and river.
Highland cattle live in the fields around the house.
Just a nice view from Gazebo.
View from the bridge towards the house.
Decoy House our home circa 1828.
And a show off.
One of our garden views.
Got about twenty of these Peacocks and hens.
Yes this is us.
Trish and our collection of four Nova Scotia duck tolling retrievers.
One of my favourite dogs, (shush)
Painting of our home, that's the bedroom you can stay in.
Fallow Deer feeding.
John and Tricia (what a mess)
Patricia with her gardening van.
John with one of our Tollers.

Host ref number: 784936516493