Help us with our permaculture farm 15 minutes from Vilcabamba, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Looking for Workawayers with permaculture experience***

    Hello, we are Georgina and Manuel, a 60 years old Ecuadorian couple. After spending a whole life working in the city, we decided, 8 years ago to buy a land in the middle of the mountain (10 minutes away from the touristic village of Vilcabamba) where we built our lovely farm and started to grow coffee, bananas, orange and lemon trees… etc… We also have 4 big dogs, a cat, a horse, 4 cows, some chickens and many guinea pigs. Manuel Still works in his construction company but Georgina would need some kind of help in the farm to water the plants, collect coffee and other fruits, feed the animals, clean pool, cut sugarcane, etc…. We love having company and getting to know new people, especially foreigners, so, if you like simple, natural and organic life, you will love this place.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our family, in which one only the two of us remain: p (our children are already adults, but visiting very often) you will discover the Ecuadorian culture, the delicious Ecuadorian food (we like to cook a different plate each day and we will share it with you). This is also your best opportunity to learn Spanish, in full immersion, as we don’t speak English 😊. Also, as we live in the middle of the mountain, it is a perfect place to disconnect from the city and connect with nature.
    The farm is located in a historical and scenic valley, it is a common destination for tourists, in part because it is widely believed that its inhabitants grow to a very old age. Locals assert that it is not uncommon to see a person reach 100 years of age and it is claimed that many have gotten to 120, even up to 135, which would make it an area with the oldest inhabitants in the world. It is often called the Valley of Longevity

  • Help

    Help

    WE ARE LOOKING FOR RESPONSIBLE PEOPLE, WHO LIKE NATURE AND ANIMALS (BETTER WITH EXPERIENCE IN AGRICULTURE), TO HELP US IN OUR FARM

    We need help in :

    - Easy tasks like water the plants, collect coffee and other fruits, feed the animals, clean pool, cut sugarcane, milk the cow, etc….
    - If you have experience: Permaculture and Agriculture: garden design, terraces, pruning and clearing of trees, irrigation system, sowing, greenhouse building, rainwater collection tank, building the compost area and chicken house...
    - If you have experience: Construction, and repairs of the volunteering house remodeling kitchen and bathroom, construction of house furniture in recycled materials, decoration, ...
    - We are always loooking for creative people with new ideas, and that’s why we need your help ¡

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for tents but could also provide a basic bed room with 1 doble bed and 2 single beds. Shared bathroom and kitchen.
    With the help of the volunteers we hope to offer soon a more comfortable shared room with private bathroom!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vilcabamba, with its rivers of water rich in magnesium and iron, has a privileged climate (with an average temperature of 19.4 ºC), clear nights and exuberant vegetation, which turn this small valley into a lost paradise and a point of Meeting for tourists from around the world.
    There is also a lot of touristic activities like hiking the Mandango mountain, the recreational park yamburara, the yambala y capamaco river, ecological way caxarumi, san pedro de Vilcabamba, yamburara, swing and walk along the cascades, …

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our connection is stable 90% of the time. If this becomes an everyday issue we can consider to change to a better provider but for the moment the internet connection works just fine .

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have big lots where it can be parked and close from a outside bathroom. Any kind of vehicle can access to the finca.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    We have already 4 dogs and a cat. They are very friendly but we have to keep an eye on them when very territorial or nervous pet guests are around.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 782741139212