Gardening and building work in rural North Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a good-sized modern bungalow set in ¾ acre, most of which is down to grass and trees; an organic vegetable garden; small greenhouse; conservatory and terrace; and a large flowerbed which is potentially beautiful but presently demanding to work, all of which, year by year, I am getting under control (ha ha!). There is no livestock.


    Our place is on the edge of a hamlet amidst woods and fields, and is not on a bus route, so your own transport would be desirable though, if you enjoy living quietly, not essential. I am living here alone, and will have my own work to pursue, though sometimes we will work together. And we’ll take trips to towns and moors and beaches. We will naturally spend time together, but our place will probably suit you best if you enjoy your own company and seek a level of tranquillity.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I enjoy lively conversation and debate, and have a wide ranging interest in architecture, arts, crafts, (I'm an artist/craftsman/writer), music, religion and life in general. This is easier if your level of English is at least basic!

  • Help

    Help

    We are on the market, so this opportunity is limited. I would really appreciate your help in the garden. The vegetable garden is not large but it is turning into a tropical jungle. When the sun shines, this is a glorious place to be. When it rains I'll suggest some cleaning, and maybe we'll both do a bit of sorting and packing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large airy private bedroom with single bed, sofa, and TV, and en-suite bath/shower room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have been a host for several years, with good success from both sides.
    I have not come close to asking anyone to leave, but it is sensible for us and you if we review the situation after one week to ensure that we are all happy. If we are not, I will do what I can to help you find an alternative position.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 776959989132