Come and help a family living in an old Stone Water Mill in Floirac, France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family with 2 children aged 9 and 11 living in France, we have pets, a dog, 2 cats and a boisterous goat.

    We are renovating an old water mill and at the stage where we need help outside with the land, to include fencing, landscaping, garden building structures, patio laying, logging and general maintenance.

    You need to have a good level of English, be fit, strong and healthy and able to use logic, reason, common sense and the correct mental attitude. If you believe you have these qualities, then you will be in for a good time.

    Important: We only accept volunteers who are travelling solo.

    Experience is a bonus but not essential.

    Very important: Please read our profile in full and check our calendar before applying, as it saves disappointment and we don't have to decline your application.

    Sorry but we only accept applications from people travelling on their own. We do not accept families, couples, pairs, groups or people who want to bring pets and people with any health issues, including pet or food allergies. Nor can we cater for anyone with special dietary requirements including vegans, gluten, wheat or lactose intolerant, any other eating disorders, religious dietary restrictions (Pork/Beef) or picky eaters. We are sorry but we do not make exceptions.

    This is an exchange. You need to come with the attitude that you are here to help us. We have a duty of care, so making sure our volunteers are happy and have a good time is our main concern. If you cannot get out of bed in the morning, suffer from mood swings, struggle to socialise or have an aversion to hard, physical work, this is not the place for you.

    You need to be strong and fit, have common sense, logic and reason, initiative, a sense of humour and come with a good work ethic and be prepared to help us on site and in the house.

    We are looking for help mainly in April but may have opportunity in the summer as well depending on the projects. Minimum stay 2 weeks but longer stays are preferred. Someone with construction experience would be fantastic.

    Please make sure you read our profile in full before applying. We will know if you have not taken the trouble to read our profile in full. We want you to apply because you feel we are best suited to the type of experience you are looking for and not sending a blanket one fits all request to dozens of hosts. We ask for a minimum of two weeks stays but we prefer longer stays. We can't accept dogs, families nor groups of travellers or anyone with special dietary/health needs which includes vegetarians.

    Please note: Not suitable for dogs or families with children. We do not provide wine or beer as a staple and we cannot cater for anyone with special dietary needs. Please do not apply if you are a vegan. We have cats and dogs and can't take people with any allergies as we live in a very rural area.

    IMPORTANT: Please quote: REFERENCE april20. When applying so that we know you have read our profile in full.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In return for your help you get to stay in one of prettiest tourist areas of the dordogne valley next to the river, surrounded by woodland in the locality of the villages of Carennac, Floirac, Loubressac, Autoire and some of the main tourist areas of Rocamador and Gouffre de Padriac.We live in an old water mill which we are renovating, we have lived here for a year, there is a separate small house that you can stay in whilst here, so you have your Independence as well integrating into our family of two younger children and pets.  There is wifi internet and we have an outside pool with patio sun area. As we are close to the river we have kayak and paddle boards you are welcome to use along with bicycles should you want to explore.
    We will provide your meals including breakfast, lunch and an evening dinner.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for workawayers to help on a number of renovation projects and general maintenance around the Mill as well as helping on the land. Experience an advantage but not always necessary.
    People who are prepared to muck in adapt and fit in with an easy going and friendly family and help with general chores when necessary.
    People with their own transport would be particularly well suited as we are out in the country and we can't always promise to take you on exploration trips.
    5 hours per day, five day week or equivalent depending on the project requirement, with some weekends required (included in the 5 days)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate small house 'petit maison' close to the main house ( picture in the profile images)
    Single Bedroom, Bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette for drinks, basic, clean and comfortable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We prefer volunteers to offer help rather than having to be asked.
    The land is 15,000 sq. metres and has various trees, including walnut trees as well as tributaries of the river dordogne.
    You will need work clothes, protective shoes, proper work gloves and do remember a hat or cap for the sun. Please ensure you have your health insurance up to date and tetanus jabs up to date. As mentioned we cannot accommodate special dietary requirements ( vegans please do not apply ) no allergies. No other health issues either sorry. Whilst we like to accommodate many nationalities we ask for a good level of understanding of spoken English. You will be using tools regularly so you must be able to understand instructions , your safety is important to us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 774734767722