Stay at an off-grid paradise in Catalunya Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are world travelers landed on a small off-grid project. We love to meet and learn from other travelers and also to share skills we've learned in our DIY journey. We are "centrally isolated" so easy to get to without having a car and surrounded by vineyards and hiking paths through pine forests. We are trying to leave this place better than we found it and are developing a dye garden and have many herbs and fruit trees and are planning a garden.

    We share our home with our dog Teix (Yew in Catalan) and Nyx (our goddess of the night black cat) as well as chickens, and have ducks planned in the near future to help us with our snail problem:-)

    As we are off grid we work hard to conserve our resources which means conserving water and the electricity we get from the sun. We are hoping to develop a grey water system soon.

    We both have a healthy sense of humor, a strong appreciation of flexibility, creativity and curiosity and would love to meet others who enjoy being outdoors and learning together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lived, and worked, all over the world and met while backpacking in the Middle East. We are both lifelong DIY enthusiasts and love using what we have available to create things. Jeanne, originally from the US, is a fiber enthusiast and is happy to teach spinning (yarn) and is in the process of starting a dye garden. She also gleans from the environment around our home to dye fabric and wool or dry herbs for tea and loves to can and process food and is happy to have extra hands and teach canning and preserving. Juan is a former large animal vet from Argentina and might have been an engineer in another life. He is planning to start mushrooms, has created a biochar "station" and loves to build and figure things out.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a diversity of tasks depending on the time of year you come: may be weeding, clearing, harvesting from our fruit trees or garden, canning and preserving, natural dyeing, animal care, small building and rehab projects. It is important to bring clothes you don't mind getting dirty or working in!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Catalan: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small hippie caravan with a queen size bed and table/storage inside with a small seating area outside set on a terrace below the main house. The camper is not super well insulated so can be cold or hot depending on the time of year. We have plenty of blankets and also a big tent if you prefer to stay in that.
    There is a full size indoor bathroom a short walk away as well as a shower room that will be your own for your time here.

    We have a small kitchen area below our home with a fridge where you can keep any food you'd like for your own, but we will provide meals during the week. Breakfast will be a la carte (bread, jam, yogurt, tea, fruit), but we eat lunch and dinner together if you'd like. Most of our meals are ovo lacto veg, but we can usually accommodate vegan as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are centrally isolated and have no visible neighbors but are only a 15 minute walk from a small town with a café and small grocery store. There is also a train station in town with service to Barcelona (~one hour) and Madrid (regional service) and bus service to Tarragona which is only 25 minutes by car. We go into the larger town as well as Tarragona shopping usually a couple of times a week and are happy to take you when we go. There is a beautiful beach and many shops and restaurants as well as hourly train service up and down the coast around 20 minute drive away. Our house is surrounded by many beautiful hiking paths that lead to small towns and villages. We usually try to go exploring a few times a month and we are happy to have you join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a space for a campervan or motorhome to park. Must be able to drive on last bit of dirt road, around .5 k No water hook up, but bathroom and shower room short distance away.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 765739726788