Looking for an all -rounded helper in Knighton, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    377

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI I am Nancy a single mum of three ( two at home - (16) (15) (one away at university 20 and I have 1
    Lodger.

    My mum died unexpectedly and I now have a 3 bedroomed house with a large garden and an acre of land to look after ( not currently accessible) The house is in the process of being completely reorganised , redecorated and renovated - So its a bit of a mess ( your sleeping space is out of house and okay .The garden is also being slowly changed. I have two outdoor spaces that I am also fixing up.

    The projects include fixing up the remaining 2 outdoor spaces - one sheds - and a summerhouse ( in a treehouse) - repairing and fitting out the tree house. Taming the garden . Finishing downstairs bathroom. At the moment I am still concentrating on the inside while the weather is not so good.

    My interests include Yoga, singing - going to the gym/sauna .. dancing and playing games - Though these days I don't have time- so support around person fitness would be great . I also love to have a game of pool, play card games , board games and I especially like backgammon and poker,

    Food here is by and large fresh and free range.. We arent vegetarian as we eat a little meat and fish. Im happy to accommodate a vegetarian though.. There is a great wholefood shop In town where we can get organic fruit and veg box that has great supplies for both vegetarian and vegan foods. Also my daughter is Gluten free ( well ish) so we use alot of wheat alternatives and as I don't really eat cows products we have dairy alternatives in often as well.

    Also we do have cats.. just in case you are allergic - the sleeping space im offering is cat ftee.

    No tobacco household

    Its very basic here as we are in process of sorting clearing ,cleaning, fixing, decorating etc

    Its difficult to do stuff on your own - I need someone generally Handy , positive and helpful.

    Knighton is a small town in Radnorshire - its very beautiful and there is much to explore It is on the border of Wales, Herefordshire and Shropshire.

    You would be as one of the family should you come. I just need a extra pair of hands and someone who can help me see what is possible here and make it happen.

    If you can speak Spanish that would be great as I wish to learn it.

    I can afford to feed one extra, any more and some contribution towards food would be necessary.

    Right now I really could do with a handyman .. someone confident
    In DIY and or good at teaching / working with teenagers .

    Example Projects -

    Outside
    Paving , paths, Painting outside shed and re- felting - painting external windows - repairing and designing treehouse refurbishment , gardening

    Inside
    Decorating bathroom, dining room and Hall/ Stripping the stairs - general sorting , listing on ebay

    Childcare - Cooking - Cleaning - General household maintenance

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Knighton is on the Welsh /Shropshire Border and Herefordshire is only 1 mile up the rd- like many borders it is an interesting area - old hill forts- ruins, castles and interesting Walks - Ludlow is just 15 min away and has a lovely castle- and is famous for its food and beer festivals + lots of great restaurants. The Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons are also within driving distance as is the coast. Offas Dyke is just behind my land if you like to walk. You can learn about history, local food and beer, the arts, music and much more all are in abundance around these parts if you are willing to explore the area.

  • Help

    Help

    A willing all round helper is all - any experience of renovating or decorating , gardening and general DIY skills would be great- but a willing helpful attitude is all I really need. If you have any building trade skills then thats a bonus. An extra helpful pair of hands is much needed. If you like to cook then we are always interested in trying new recipes -
    As I have kids and pets you need to like being around both. AS I said in main listing we are in process of clearing, cleaning, sorting, rearranging, fixing, redecorating, housework , childcare I need help with all.
    I list on ebay - so experience of this would be very helpful
    Help with cooking, cleaning and washing - freeing me up to increase my listings on ebay and so work more and so generate more resourses to invest in projects that need doing in the house and in the outside spaces.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fully insulated wooden lodge ( shed) Double Bed/
    House has Kitchen, dining room, Living room , shower room, bathroom ( fitted but not finished)
    3 bedrooms. 3 Outside spaces and treehouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Theres a train station and buses - so you can get about ( not that frequent) - I go around a fair bit anyway and would be happy to take you to places if Im free and available . The heart of Wales Line runs through Knighton. I have a car. Offas dyke Centre is located in Knighton..for the keen walkers.. Ludlow culturally interesting old town with The feathers a very old pub.. lots of foody places and a castle.. Llandridnod Wells old spa town.. The Wye Valley - for outdoor pursuits and Brecon Beacons with the Black mountains- Shrewsbury is 1 hr as is Hereford - Hay on Wye famous for books.. Lots really if you are willing to travel a little bit.
    I want vistors to feel at home - to become like family while they stay

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 2 days off

My kids

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)




Host ref number: 759731664333