Come to the Yorkshire Dales, get involved with a techie family.

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 219 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 55 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there.

    I run an internet business on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales in the beautiful spa town of Ilkley. I work from home in an office built on the grounds of our home and love been able to walk to work and save the environment a little. My 11 year old son just loves technology and has a very inquisitive mind. If you share his interest of all things cool (programming, Lego Technic, computers, games, films, music) he will talk for hours with you although he is a little shy at first. He especially loves music and the internet, and also if given a chance will build things from any material given to him. At the moment it is a pin ball machine.

    I love to travel and have been to some wonderful places in the world and always like to share experiences with other like minded friends. Our life in Ilkley is simple but we always like to try new things and would love to share some of these experiences with you, from walking on the moors to a drive to a beautiful beach. We have a good style of living and like to eat well. My ethos on life is about my family and not just about work, although I realise I do need to work to live.

    We own and run a number of .uk internet sites and hope that anyone interested in visiting us shares an interest in both the internet and technology. Some of our sites are for profit but some are just for fun. I own thousands of domain names and have an ongoing program to develop the better ones, so any ideas and help building and managing these sites would be great. At the moment we are developing , so if you wish to know anything about the area please take a look.

    Finally if you are not technology wise but would love to spend time in a small family environment and teach and play with my now just 14 year old then also get in touch.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. This is very easily accessed either by car, bike, bus or on foot. Ilkley is at the end of a train line making access to the rest of the country very easy. We are about 30 miles from Manchester, Leeds 20 miles, Bradford 14 miles, Harrogate, 12 Miles. Ilkley was a Victorian Spa town and lies in the Wharfe Valley and we sit about 10 minute walk from the river. Our house sits on the road which leads to the famous 'Cow and Calf Rocks' and Ilkley Moors. Nearby you also have Harwood House, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, Salts Mill (David Hockney exhibition here if you like modern art), the National Media Museum in Bradford, Haworth which is the home of the Bronte's, Malham Cove and Tarn (the source of the river Aire), and much more. We've even hosted 2 stages of the 'Tour de France'. rest assured there is lots to do for all ages. We look forward to seeing you.

  • Help

    Help

    I have an 13 year old son so help around the house, cooking, cleaning gardening and involvement in my family helping with my son would be a great thing. I am looking for someone who is not scared to get involved with us. Our family time and down time is important to us. It would be great if you have an interest in web design, SEO, content management and writing, networks, and a general interest in technology. If you have knowledge of Social Media and/or marketing then this would also be great.

    I am looking for a kind friendly honest person who is not scared to help out. I speak a very little Hungarian, French and Flemish/Dutch, but please don't expect much from me. If you have a driving licence then that might also be helpful.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our 1930's house and have use of our whole home. There is very quick Wi-Fi if you want to download films and full cable television. We have a 150 feet (45 metre) long garden which lies on the edge of Ilkley Moor. There is even a 12 foot trampoline (3.6 metre) for those of you who want to keep fit at the bottom of the garden. You will have shared use of the bath/shower room and use of our bikes and other sports equipment. Access to us is very easy, either you can get the train to Ilkley and we are a 5 minute walk from the station. National express buses stop at Skipton 10 miles away and Leeds/Bradford airport is 7 miles away. We can collect you from any of these places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5

This is the top of my Street.
The start of the Dales. Just a 30 Minute walk from my home
My office which I built in my garden.
Host ref number: 741847653214