Update - we have arranged an workaway for this summer and cannot accommodate anyone further, sorry. Buona fortuna tutti! - Interested in cultural exchange (Italian speakers especially welcome) and glad to provide help-St Albans, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a semi-retired couple with a daughter about to go to university, interested in cultural exchange (Italian speakers especially welcome) and glad to provide help and suggestions for seeing nearby London the centre of which is just 20 minutes away by train, or the local Roman ruins and museums. A short distance away are the Icknield Way and Dunstable downs which are ideal for walking and also the Chiltern Hills an area of natural beauty and flora/fauna. Cycling is very popular in the area with many cycle paths and quiet lanes and in the main town centre, just over a mile away, there are many different styles of restaurants and bars ranging from wine bars to traditional pubs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a historic town just 20 minutes from central London where there is a fantastic mix of cultural experiences. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and having learned Italian to intermediate level are happy to help visitors improve their english if it is not their native tongue. A visit from Italian speakers would be especially welcome, and might be of particular interest from a historic point of view due to there being some of the best preserved Roman ruins in the Uk on the edge of the town. From Battles in the Wars of the Roses to modern day there is plenty of history on visible display and many small, picturesque villages within easy reach for sightseeing and numbers gyms locally for those who want to keep fit!

  • Help

    Help

    looking for workawayers to help us get our house in shape for sale next year - gardening, cleaning, decorating or just helping to carry and clear junk from the loft/shed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    4 hours per day, 5 days per week, but flexible on which days

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom, with tv and satellite/cable, in our home with a bathroom for exclusive use and shared use of the kitchen, though we're happy to cook/provide food too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 739186118281