Stay and help our family in the Eden Valley in Cumbria

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a family of 4 humans two dogs, 6 cats 3 ferretts, 3 ducks and 3 chickens. We live in a barn we have been converting for 10 years (we are on the last bits now). We live in the Eden Valley in Cumbria. Its very beautiful here lots of opportunity for walking. The famous Settle to Carlisle railway goes past our house ( the station is 4 miles away from us) We get steam engines going past once a week in the summer. We are an hour away from 'Hadrians Wall' and other archaeological sites. The lake district is also an hour away which is beautiful and you can take boat trips etc.....Lots of walking available.
    Our village is on an ancient site and 3 years ago a roman mask was found near our house and sold for £2 million pounds!
    We do attend Quakers occasionally. People from any religion are invited to share their spirituality in quiet. We feel religion and spirituality are private which can be shared when people ask but should not be pushed onto others. Anyone who is interested in religious philosophy could come with us if they wished.
    We need help creating a garden and finishing bits off, and veg patch and some house work. You don't need skills just a willingness to help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We have had people to stay with us before in exchange for help and it worked very well. They stayed 1-3 weeks. They did cooking, building gardening and house work and house maintenance- painting etc...
    They brought themselves and their skills and contributed to the house and family in their own way.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English the children do a tiny bit of Spanish and Duncan speaks a little german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one double bed and don't mind who shares it. In the room there is a small space on the floor for a third person if needed. You can get internet but it can be slow at times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no transport from the village -I can take you to the station and bus stop 4 miles away on your days off if you wish to travel around cumbria. There is lots of walking from where we live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We ask for 4 hours per day in return for 3 meals per day which can be lumped together into full days and picking up and dropping off from the station on arrival and depature

Host ref number: 719323321822