Cat and dog lover needed in Paris, France who can also help with cooking, cleaning, and organization

Country

France

Favourited 745 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1267

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there,

    I'm American but have been living in Paris for many years so my mentality is a mix of both cultures. I enjoy exchanges with guests which is natural for me because when I was a child we always had foreign students living with us which was very enriching. I’m looking for guests who are interested in a genuine sharing of experiences, outings, and meals.

    I'm looking for guests who can stay for longer periods--preferably for at least two months--since having people coming and going frequently has been too stressful for my dog Trippy and cat Oscar. Due to a last minute change, I can host someone for a possibly shorter visit, from mid-July until the end of August or maybe longer.

    Guests must have a lot of experience with dogs and preferably have experience taking care of dogs who have been traumatized . Trippy has made amazing progress, and he's loving and affectionate but still needs to become more confident especially with other dogs. I'll be doing most of the dog walking but sometimes am in a lot of pain and need some assistance.

    Watch out!!!! You must genuinely love cats as much as dogs because Oscar is extremely sociable and needs someone who will play and cuddle with him a lot. He gets very jealous and angry if Trippy gets more attention than he does. Unfortunately many guests have ignored him and he will no longer tolerate it. The guest's bed is Oscar's main territory and he really needs a guest who will take time to play with him daily and give him a lot of attention.

    The other main things I need assistance with are cooking, washing and putting away the dishes, and general cleaning such as sweeping and mopping. There's also some household organization I could use a hand with, organizing, and some DIY work. My needs are rather unpredictable so it's important for guests to be flexible about hours, days, and tasks. Many past Workawayers have loved this flexibility because I always due my best to see that you can get blocks of time for discovering Paris. And I enjoy accompanying guests to museums and exhibits or for social outings. If you need a set regular schedule, I wouldn't be the best host for you.

    I love discovering recipes from different countries and sharing meals. Some guests choose to prepare their food separately and others enjoy preparing and sharing meals with me which I really enjoy because it's a great opportunity to get to know each other better.

    I ask for just 15 hours of assistance a week because I don't provide food. Before arriving, you need to make sure you can afford to buy groceries in Paris.

    I live in the heart of one of the most beautiful if not the most beautiful neighborhoods in Paris and you can visit many things by foot from here. It's also an ideal location for getting around by bus and metro.

    My background is in fine art photography and literature.

    If you know Photoshop well and are a patient teacher that would be a big plus. My photography experience is mostly in analog and I'm having trouble shifting over to digital.

    Many of my guests enjoy going to a beautiful multimedia library that looks out over a park which is about 10 minutes away and many of my guests love going there daily because it’s cheerful, there are computers available, and giant cushions for lying down on while reading, and there's a free movie library (all in French) right by the multimedia center.

    There is a one week trial period so we can see if it feels like we are a good fit and then discuss how things are going at the end of the first month.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Paris is an amazing city with so many things to see, do, and discover that you can't get bored. From me you can learn what I've observed about the French and France over many years so that can enrich what you discover on your own. I also lived in Japan for two years and hope to return and spend even more time there. So I can share about what it's like to be multicultural.

    You can practice your English with me and benefit from the fact that I worked for many years as an English teacher.

    I enjoy going on photo walks together with guests as well as visiting monuments and exhibits, so we could take in some culture together.

  • Help

    Help

    For details about the type of help I'll need please contact me since it varies.

    Due to past experience I must emphasize that guests are expected to be tidy, not to eat my food, be careful not to break things, and to genuinely love animals.

    Also I'm interested in genuine exchange and so was unhappy to have guests who spent their time glued to digital devices and were not interested in having any conversations.

    SECURITY DEPOSIT:
    Replacing the security badge that you'll need to use along with the keys will cost 300€ if you lose it, so you must be able to either give me a security deposit upon arrival or find a way of confirming to me that you could replace the badge in the case that you lose it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French - anglais et français

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bedroom apartment with a bathroom separate from the toilet room a small kitchen.

    I've transformed the living room into my bedroom so you'll have your own space except that the doors need to be left open as much as possible especially when you're sleeping because the guest bed was my bed & therefore prime territory which Oscar still considers to be his.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The benefits I can offer are:

    My apartment is in a central and beautiful neighborhood ideally located for visiting Paris.
    You can get to a number of museums, monuments, and destinations by foot and get everywhere by public transportation easily.

    Learning from someone who has extensive experience along the road of life.

    I know a lot about how to survive and what to do in Paris when you have very little money.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week max (no food provided)

On the left is Karina Garcia holding the dog of a friend of mine. She was a really lovely Workawayer who was excellent at taking care of a traumatized dog (and cooking delicious meals). I'm delighted that we've stayed close friends.
After searching night and day 5 weeks for my lost puppy, we were reunited. This was the happiest of my life!
The Seine is close to my place and perfect for walks and sunbathing. In the summer a beach is installed with real sand and palm trees and lots of free activities.
The Orsay Museum used to be a train station. You can get there by foot, it's the ideal size for visiting--not too big, and it's full of lovely impressionistic paintings.
Inside the Garnier Opera. Ceiling by Chagall! This is just up the street from my place.
The Tuileries in fall. I just love this park all year round.
Place Vendome. I love to window shop here for jewelry that's expensive enough to buy yourself an apartment. It's a great place for people like me who enjoy beautiful gems.
The Champs Elysée, Paris's largest avenue, great for window shopping, hanging out, dancing, also within walking distance.
The Louvre museum is just down the street from my place and it's delightful to visit the park next to it and sit on the benches next to the museum as well as visiting inside of course.
The Grand Palais. This is an amazing building to visit which always has great exhibits and is near my apartment.






Host ref number: 714214164671