Live and work in the beautiful redwood forest of the California coast, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 305 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help develop a beautiful property in the forest 20 minutes from the beaches. This home has always been a safe place for travellers to stay. Get inspired by the culture of santa cruz county and the beautiful outdoors. Live in the Redwood forests of the California coast. Santa Cruz county is a unique place in California. Known for its radical lifestyles, surfing, artistic community, ancient redwood trees over 100 meters tall, beautiful coastline and amazing weather. Its 1.5 hours from San Francisco, 1 hour from Monterey, 1.5 hours from Big Sur, and 3.5 hours from Yosemite National Park.

    I'm an adventure seeker, traveler, sci-fi movie addict, rock climber and motorcycle lover. I spend a lot of time at work and at the gym.

    Like any hotel or hostel, for safety, all guests show their passports or DL upon arrival.

    🌟This homestay is currently only available for INDIVIDUAL travellers.

    🙏🏻Please, Check my calendar and read this entire listing. My calendar on this page is always updated.

    I typically host 4 week stays. Beginning to end of calendar months are easiest to schedule. Longer stays can be arranged sometimes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’ve spent my entire life living in Northern California. I know this place well I can tell you a lot about the area. I travel internationally frequently and I really enjoy hosting fellow travellers.

  • Help

    Help

    I have endless projects over the next 6 years and its really nice to have help. I have easy jobs anyone can do including yard work, painting, cleaning, and keeping me motivated to work Haha.

    I’m currently spending a lot of time doing forestry management, clearing trees, planting trees, building trails, and removing invasive plants.
    I also have painting projects, organizing projects, and cleaning projects which will mostly start in November. There’s always something to do. A great workaway is mostly someone Enjoyable to be around, helpful, and I can trust in my house when I’m not home.

    Most of your time helping will be on the weekends. I figure 20hrs a week is plenty of help. Some weeks will be less work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be given a very nice private room and bathroom. Food is paid for, but nothing expensive.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in the Santa Cruz mountains 20 minutes from Santa Cruz city and some very beautiful beaches. There is a bus near my house to take you to Santa Cruz or the neighboring mountain towns. This house is in a kind of remote area located in the forest. 10 minutes from the highway. There is public bus access, but not nearly are easy as a big city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have decent WiFi. It streams Netflix fine. It shouldn’t be a problem for working online.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My driveway in Febuary
the house in the forest
Monterey, California
Monterey, California
Outside my house at sunset

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.7)

Cultural exchange: (3.7)

Communication: (3.7)







Host ref number: 713914916424