Helping out Dutch-Belgian family with four kids in Breisach, Southern Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Belgian-Dutch family, living in the south of Germany since 2006 with our four children: Casper (17), Boris (14), Aleksander (9) and Elsa (5).
    We speak Dutch, Flemish, German, French, English, Norwegian and a little Italian.
    Additionally to hosting you, we can also give music or singing lessons, or we can teach you languages. But we are also grateful to exercise new languages with you. We are also fond of Swedish, Icelandic, Spanish,... happy to train something new.
    We live in Breisach, near to the French border, close to Freiburg, Basel, Kaiserstuhl... it's a beautiful region.
    We can offer you a furnitured room and the use of the house, which is often (almost) empty during the daytime, but can also be very full in the weekends and holidays. You can play on the piano in the living room and share meals with us or make your own melas, if you prefer that.
    You can use our computer with internet if needed. There is also Wifi in the house, but we like to keep the use of devices modest, so we only turn it on, when needed. You can do the same.
    Our children are social and happy to meet new people.
    We are looking forward to young people who like to live in a busy family and who like to help us in a flexible and kind way. We need help with washing, cleaning, babysitting, cooking form time to time, wahsing the dishes (there is no dishwasher in the home),... all of this on a flexible base. We can talk about the plans for the day or week, and we also like it very much, when you are independent, and look what needs to be done.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think we can offer lively conversations in many languages, we have been living in many countries in Europe. We can offer you both some privacy and rest as well as taking part in a busy daily life. We could make music together from time to time, we can exchange music or language lessons against help in the household...
    We try to live ecologically consciously, eating organic, regional food. We have no car, but there is perfect public transport around.
    In the weekends (but also during the weekdays form time to time) you are free to visit Basel, Freiburg, the Black Forrest, Zürich, Colmar,... There is good public transport around.
    A month ticket for the region costs 60 Euro. You can get to very nice places with that ticket.

  • Help

    Help

    We do not need all of the above mentioned help form you. We prefer that you choose, what you are good at and what you like. Cooking for us would be great, for example. Babysitting is only from time to time needed. Any help can be a relief for us. Our garden is not so big, but there is some work to do, so any help is good.

    We have three sons that are very easy going and open to visitors, happy to speak German, Dutch or English with you.
    And then we have a little daughter who deeply dislikes to be the youngest. One needs a lot of humor to cope with her temperament, but she is also a very independent, clever and creative girl. After we had some English speaking guests, she starts to understand quite a bit.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, Flemish, German, English, French, Norwegian and a little Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a new built house and we have a beautiful room for you. There are two bathrooms, a large living room and a kitchen. You can share this rooms with us to, eat with us, or feel free to eat alone. In the mornings, until approximately 14.30, the house is almost empty, as the children are in school, my husband works in Basel and I am not there at least 3 days a week. On the other days I am working at home.
    Any help in the household will enable me to practice singing some more; this can be arranged in a flexible way.
    On the days I work or teach, it would be lovely to come home and not have to cook immediately. This are just some examples.
    We speak Dutch at home, but we can also train some German with you if you like. The two youngest children understand some English by now.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can go to Freiburg within 30 minutes train. Freiburg is a very beautiful, lively university city.
    The black forest is close too, where you can go hiking or skiing. There is a rowing club in Breisach, also Karate, Athletics,...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 711342522598