Help on a small holding in the Costa Tropical, Andalucia, Spain




Favourited 373 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a traditional cortijo (a Spanish country cottage) situated in in the heart of the countryside of the Costa Tropical surrounded by fruit trees, olive groves and views to the blue Mediterranean only a bicycle ride to the south.

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read our whole profile as there is a lot of relevant information that will help you decide whether you want to come to stay with us or not. (We will know if you haven't) And please check the calendar for availability.

    We like to book people in ahead of time so we can organise ourselves to be best prepared for our helpers, we like to know about your skills and abilities so that we can give you appropriate jobs that fit your skills and interests, we find that people that enjoy their work, work better and give more. In return we make sure your stay is comfortable, enjoyable. and rewarding.

    Anyone with previous agricultural experience will be given preference although this work would not be the mainstay of your jobs.

    We are looking for two people together, a couple of whatever gender or two friends who can share a caravan, entertain themselves and get on with the tasks that needs to be done. We don't accept people who are travelling alone. Applicants must be very self motivated, independent and able to get on with the work alone as we both work during the day, although Jake is normally back home early afternoon and both of us are here over the weekends, whoever you are you need to be able to entertain yourselves in the evenings after meals and during days off as we live in a remote area in the countryside. Town is around 8 Kms away and we do have bikes, the way down is easier than the way up...

    We require a minimum stay of 2 weeks, but we prefer workawayers for 1 month or more when there is enough work. This enables helpers to understand the ethos of our land and to undertake a routine of jobs that need to be done, ie: feeding the hens and putting them to bed. Longer stay helpers are preferred so that we can teach and rely on helpers to get on with everyday jobs that need to be done.

    We are a small holding of 6000m2 with a mixture of fruit trees, around 200, vegetable gardens and a number of hens. We are not a commercial concern, we grow to eat and are largely self sufficient. We are located at 450m in a sheltered barranco (gully) in scenic surroundings overlooking the Mediterranean in southern Andalucia a little inland from the beautiful but little known Costa Tropical and a little south of the well known and much visited Alpujarras.

    We need hard workers, people that are enthusiastic and enjoy country life, we live basically but plentifully. We are looking for reliable people that can use their own initiative to work while we are not on site. Helpers are required to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week with 2 clear days off, (Sunday and Monday), 25 hours a week. Hard workers are rewarded with good food, country walks and beautiful surroundings. Some of the work can be quite physically demanding but rewarding, a lot of it is easy going things like weeding and caring for the hens.

    We grow organically therefore there is a lot of weeding and clearing to do at all times of the year. Work will include the general maintenance of our land with weeding, general care of the hens and cleaning cleaning of the hen shed, a morning of cleaning of the home and some work off site at other gardens.

    You MUST be dog friendly, at the moment 4, all rescue animals. Others turn up for a little food and company and a walk with us. We also have 3 cats and an ever changing number of hens.

    Accommodation is a caravan with either a double bed or two singles with private washing and toilet facilities and a small private terrace with beautiful views of the valley and down to the sea. The caravan is basic but comfortable and should be maintained and kept clean during your stay with us. It has suffered a bit from misuse by previous workaway helpers. Use of private pool included when available.

    Food is homegrown when available and always home cooked from scratch, helpers are required to cook for themselves on their days off and during the day, ingredients are supplied, we offer one good home cooked meal a working day. We eat mainly vegetarian but all dietary requirements are catered for, like gluten and lactose free and vegan.

    We are a little remote, so you need to be able to entertain yourself. There is no TV (but we do have films on DVD and hard drive to watch through your laptop) and little mobile reception. We don't have a fixed land line telephone. We do have limited Internet via wifi, this is only available for checking emails and bank status, booking flights and other essential things, it is not available for general brousing or social networking due to being a costly satellite connection. If you are dependent on your internet for entertainment we are not the place for you.

    Please write this sentence as your first line when you contact us, "yes, we have definitely read all your profile!"

    The local town is 8 kms away and is a typical local seaside beach resort used largely by Spanish holiday-makers, it has a very Spanish feel and is a great place to practice your Spanish. There are many local bars and restaurants serving freshly caught fish and local reared meats. It has a local daily fish, meat and vegetable market, on Fridays there is a mixed market and Sundays there is a second hand flea market. There are also other historical interests. Granada and Malaga are both a local bus ride away.

    There are many amazing and beautiful short and long walks, from half hour to full days, directly from our doorstep, as well as the impressive Parque Natural Sierras de Tejeda, Almijara y Alhama where there are fantastic walks through forests, along riverbeds and up mountains. Not to mention just up the road is the Sierra Nevada with the highest peak on mainland Spain, Mullacen. This is a two day walk with a stop over at a refugio.

    We are both qualified teachers and Nadine works in a local school but Jake now has a garden and land maintenance business. We have been in southern Spain now for some years but before here we were both working as teachers in western China. Then we traveled overland through Tibet down into Nepal and onto India.

    We have both traveled extensively, Nadine in S.America and Jake through Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Australasia. Nadine worked for some time on a turtle breeding project in S. America and Jake worked as a mountain guide in Nepal and taught English voluntarily in Calcutta to single parents and orphans.

    Now that you have taken the time to read everything, if you are still interested we would like to hear from you, we will always give a prompt reply.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anybody that comes to help can take advantage of seeing how an organic or ecological small holding works and how to maintain one. From simply weeding (yes there is a skill to this) to animal care, planting, tree surgery and olive picking. All of which offer great satisfaction and sense of achievement. We welcome all who want to experience the good, hard and mundane of Campo living.

  • Help


    There is always a lot of weeding and clearing of land to do as we are organic and don't like to use herbicides or any other non ecological approved products. The hens need to be fed, watered and let out and eggs collected, we have a number of hens that lay, every week we clear out the hen shed which can be a little bit of a dirty job. Dogs are free but like to go for a walk with someone.
    In winter we need wood cut / chopped, in summer we need the land irrigated, October onwards is our clearing, cleaning and pruning time and this will continue through to February and is quite hard work.
    The chores are quite physically demanding we must warn any potential helpers. Use of petrol driven machinery to rotovate and strim might be required, as well as some off site work in local gardens.
    Other tasks will include painting, cleaning, watering the vegetable gardens and trees.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english spanish

  • Accommodation


    We have a caravan, it has a double or two single beds, oven, hob, sound system to connect ipod mp3, fridge and more. There is a separate toilet/shower/wash room area which is totally yours, and a small terrace to laze about on. Views to sunrise and mediterranean and use of pool when available, outside space, lots, the whole countryside...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we mentioned in our profile above, there are markets to go and see, a second hand market on Sundays and a general one on Fridays. Of course there is the beach, Not one but many, some secluded and hidden away, others lined with bars and restaurants, there are also 3 naturist beaches locally.

    You are spoilt for choice for walks, there are guides available in the caravan, but to be brief everything from a gentle half hour stroll around the fruit trees to hours and days of walking in mountains, national parks and river beds.

    For climbers a 2 hour drive away is the famous El Chorro climbing area for those climbing enthusiasts, and Malaga, Granada, and other cities to explore for those who are into achitecture and history.

    Less than an hour away by car is the well known and much visited Alpujarras, with traditional villages, arts and crafts and also the starting point for the 2 day hike to the highest mountain on mainland Spain, Mulhacen.

    There is literally something for everyone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 696621523248