Small farm in Sweden needs help with fencing, painting etc

Country

Sweden

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are a family of 4, mom and dad and two teenagers. We live on a small farm located at the countryside.
    The nature is very beautiful here!
    You can go by bus to lakes and to the sea and commute to Stockholm or nearby towns.

    We have a few cats, dogs, chicken, goats, horses. They are as part of our family.
    But your work will be with the animals environment. (no horseback riding)

    We need help such as fencing, painting, hay, lifting heavy stuff etc.
    If you are a couple and one of you are not so strong, one of you can do other tasks such as cleaning, gardening, cooking etc.

    Only nonsmokers and no alcohol. You are honest and sincerely interested in helping us.
    Your help will be very appreciated.

    The accomondation; you can put up your own tent or sleep at the barn if you would like to have some privacy.
    We have one bed for a female on one floor and one sofabed for a male on the other floor.

    We welcome people with food-allergies and vegetarians/vegans but be prepared to bring your own food or buy/cook your own meal.
    It is quite easy to be gluten or lactose intolerant in Sweden - at least in the area we live in. Part of our family eat gluten/lactose free so that wouldn't be a problem. Due to foodallergies no hazelnuts are allowed in our house.
    The food you can expect here is not fine dining since this isn¨t a hotel or restaurant.

    We speak swedish, and english. One of our teenagers speak english, spanish and japanese.
    Maybe we are typical swedish - a bit quite and reserved? I don't know. Our teenagers are quite shy.

    Volunteering hours; around 5 hours a day. June and august you will probably work saturday and sunday and have some day off in the week. (No work at 23,24 june) In july we work with the hay if the weather is fine.

    We try to answer everyone if we got time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are born in sweden by swedish parents. In july a small tourist information is located close to our house.

  • Help

    Help

    We would be very glad if someone want to help us build fences!!!

    The fence is for wildlife animals, made of wire and high. Or electrical fence. The wooden poles are also high.
    Get the wooden poles in the ground, stretch the fence, hammering it to the poles.
    A laborious task .


    Painting our barn.
    We would like to paint the roof inside the barn and the walls inside/outside.
    Quite heavy/tricky to paint upwards and a bit tricky to paint the upper walls and the backside.
    Not so heavy to paint the lower walls.


    Garden:
    Removing hogweeds.
    Just use a schyte and remove the hogweeds.
    Not so heavy, but you should read about hogweeds so you know what you deal with.


    Trees.
    If you have knowledge or are an arborist you can cut brances that needs to be removed from some trees.
    We also has trees that needs to be cut down.
    We cut down the tree and your job would be to remove the branches from the spot.


    Cooking.
    Cooking low budget food and make bread. Do something with our apples when it's season for apples.
    Please do not apply if cooking is the only thing you are willing to do.

    Please notice that some of the family members are lactose intolerant, and one family member have many other food allergies. Please don't be offended by not being allowed to cook for that person.

    You can not bring any kind of nuts to our house and are not allowed to eat nuts when staying with us.
    You do not smoke, drink alcohol or use drugs while you are visiting us. Thank you for your respect.

    We discuss how long your stay will be.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish, english (spanish, japanese)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sofa bed for male in the living room, room with single bed for female in other room.
    Simple meals, nothing fancy, but with Swedish Meatballs, Knäckebröd and Kaviar if you like to try.

    Please notice, there is some level of differences on the farm and you have to be able to walk in stairs in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About 1hours 30 minutes to commute to Stockholm, capitol city of Sweden, around 40 minutes to the town of Nynäshamn. Google for more information or ask.
    Nice forests to walk in, possibilities to go by bus to swim or fish in saltwater/freshwater.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5

Host ref number: 693851869468