We would like some help with our farm near Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 138 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Important: If you want to join our team, please contact us first to check if we have availability! We have limited spots and being close to Rome we are often full and unable to handle short-notice requests.

    We are a care farm that exists since 2002, one of the first care farms in Italy. We have animals, vegetable gardens, and a fruit yard. Our many animals are part of the staff, they work with us with the disabled. We have experience with animals but a bit less with vegetable gardens. Since some years we work together with a horse riding association that specializes in Horse Bed Riding therapy for multiply disabled, the only one in Italy to offer this therapy.

    The farm always has a lot do: taking care of the many animals, vegetable gardens, harvesting fruit and making marmelades for fund raising, repairs and other maintenance, cleaning, handy crafts for fundraising, wood chopping for the winter, mowing grass, etc.

    The farm is near to the sea and only 1 km from the train station from where you can reach the centre of Rome in about 40 minutes. You will have a room in our farm appartment, which doubles as guest house and office. There is a living room with an open kitchen, and a bath room with shower and (small) bath.

    Even if we don't do large scale production, it is a real farm. Most of the activity takes places early in the morning, before it gets too hot, and therefor it is important you are not afraid to get up early, and get dirty or tired ;-) We ask 4-6 hours of help per day, and of course you can have your time off too :-) And if you like you can learn more about for instance natural horsemanship and communication with horses and other animals.

    Respecting nature and animals, and sharing experiences and passions is important in our team. You want to be part of it? Email us :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience a different way of handling animals and working with disabled people, although working with the disabled usually is not part of your chores. The farm for a while has been neglected and needs quite a bit of work to get all back in order again, so a lot to do and a lot to learn. It is a friendly and open environment, set for learning and experiencing.

  • Help

    Help

    The farm always has a lot of things to do: animals to take care of, (vegetable) gardens, fruit yard, maintenance, projects we have in mind to improve the farm, etc. A lot of skills come in handy here ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, english, dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in the farm apartment. The apartment doubles as guest house and office. There is a shared living room with an open kitchen, and a bath room with shower and (small) bath. There is internet and tv.
    Cooking and cleaning up after shared meals is done together :-) We skip meat regularly but we are not vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Rome and the sea ... there is a lot to see in this area :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 687395847793