If you have an interest in learning more about horses and farm life, come and join us in Cochrane, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small private horse boarding facility near Cochrane Alberta. Focusing on positive reinforcement training. Close to Banff and Canmore so great sights and hiking etc and skiing in the winter.
    You will have your own private room in the house.
    If you are adept at computer work esp powerpoint and video editing and publishing that is a skill that I would love to have you help me with!
    There are rich historic sites close and a very cultured city is to be had in Calgary for those who enjoy that.

    The farm is an excellent place to learn more bout animal welfare and scientifically proven training methods that improve the lives of all animals.
    Duties include chores three times a day and cleaning of pens where horses are. Other work depends on time of year but may include help with haying, fencing, driving tractors etc. There are physical aspects to much of the work and our weather is very changeable often many seasons in one day!
    There is no public transportation to the farm and my trips to town are only about once a week but there are car rental places in town.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you have an interest in learning more about how to train horses in a kind and scientifically proven way you will love it here. Going to the Rockies and exploring the nearby national parks and historic sites is a fascinating experience any time of the year.

  • Help

    Help

    No involvement with the horses needed except being comfortable in the pens picking poo.
    It is physical labor especially in the winter but good if you want to keep fit during your time away.
    Also need help moving small bales of hay into other locations as I run out.
    Help around the house re cleaning a bit and making supper is also desired if I had all my wishes answered.
    Must be a hard worker and not need supervision. Able to think re problem solving but asking if in doubt are needed skills.
    Computer skills in the area of websites and video editing are most welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private bedroom in house with shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    lots of day trips to great places but you will need to rent a car which is available near us. there is a bus that runs from Cochrane to Calgary daily for commuters and the c train is a great way to get around Calgary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 679814799119