Warm, fun and inviting American-Czech couple needs your creative ideas and crafty hands at our home in a Bohemian village, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

updated  

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an open-minded, mid-aged Czech-American couple that enjoys - a wide variety of pleasures, from food and art to ideas and people. Both of us have lived in many countries around the globe, and we love exploring the material world and the world of minds. We own two modest houses and one acre of gardens, and we like to look at reconstructing them as one huge art project. We are city people turned villagers, we have been living on the property for 7 years, and we prefer to build everything from scratch - why buy windows when you can build them, and make them "yours" and original? Why buy furniture when you can design and build something beautiful that will last forever? There are so many creative things one can do - build a theatre stage, learn woodworking, try some woodturning, build a totally insane garden sculpture ... just dream it, and then get your hands dirty and make it happen.
    Life is too short to waste one minute to boredom. Does this philosophy appeal to you? We want to hear from you!

    We believe we can inspire you, and we would love to get inspired by you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience authentic Bohemian village slow life, eat fresh produce from our garden, participate in interesting art projects, learn woodturning, woodworking, glass etching... Eva has a quite well-equipped woodworking workshop and you can get involved in many crafts, learn some new skills and perhaps hand-make some souvenirs for your friends and family if you want.

  • Help

    Help

    We have so many creative ideas and projects around the two houses we own but only four hands. We need help of some flexible individual who is up for all kinds of artistic and building projects, such as landscaping and garden art, painting murals, woodworking, refurbishing and painting, building furniture, constructing a pergola or a treehouse...

    Some heavy lifting might be involved - all creative projects involve some not-so-creative stages that just need to be done, such as laying bricks and moving stuff from one place to another - but we promise to keep this "basic" work to bare minimum and make it as interesting and fun for you as possible.

    We will do our best to entertain you and show you the area we live in, but at times we are busy working (we both work from home), so you will be expected just explore on your own. We will do our best to give you space to manage your stay your own way - so that you have enough time for days of travel and days of work... I think that an independent, self-sufficient person who doesn't mind spending some time on their own will feel the happiest here. At the same time - we can be quite chatty and entertaining if our schedule permits, so don't worry, you will not die of boredom here at the very end of the world! :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large sunny room, modestly furnished, shared bathroom. Michael is a great and inventive chef, so get ready to eat foods you have never heard of. Michael is a vegetarian, Eva is a meat-eater, we love to cook and can accommodate nearly any diet. We have an "open fridge policy" and very loose schedule when it comes to meals ...so if you can be independent in feeding yourself at times, it would be great! :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are an easygoing, open-minded couple, we both work from home. We have a car and can drive you to the train station - you can be in Prague in 50 minutes by train. If our schedule permits, we will show you around our village or Prague, or you can explore on your own.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 672915984944