Enjoy life on our farm in Aberdeenshire Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a 50 acre croft in NE Aberdeenshire where I live with my elderly mother. I teach part time and run the farm on my own. There are sheep, pigs, alpacas, horses, poultry, calves, dogs and cats.

    I was an international agricultural scholar Uni' Minnesota, and have worked in NZ Australia, USA, Poland and visited many other countries. We have vet students and other volunteers who help throughout the year, mostly at lambing indoors in April. Then general farm maintenance and gardening, we maybe doing a mini hydro scheme - finances dependent. We enjoy having people to stay and share their culture and find out about ours. We have taught various nationalities to improve their English, and learn about our farming practices and life in Scotland.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My mother and I love to share our experiences and include people in our lives. We like to hear about how you live and what your future plans and past experiences are.
    We will take you to other farms and if appropriate discussion groups. Live as family.
    In the past we have helped volunteers with improving their English.
    There is plenty of chance to explore the local area, which has fabulous scenery and is famous for being "Castle and Distillery" country. The coast which is varied and very pretty is close by. Having own transport is a definite advantage even if it is only an old banger.
    There are other Workaway host close by that you can meet.
    I am a teacher of Primary children and also an Equine Massage practitioner, and would be happy to teach you .

  • Help

    Help

    No experience needed, but plenty of common sense and ability to follow instructions, as all training will be given. Be willing to have a go and embrace new ideas and learn new skills.
    Help especially wanted at lambing in April. we lamb about 100 indoors and usually have a vet student as well. Otherwise general farm work/gardening. Sorry no one under 21 for our insurance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Live as family and have own or shared twin room or annex, depends on who is here at the time. Share a bathroom. Eat what we do when we do (No mobiles or electronic gadgets at meal times). Help in the house laying the table help with washing up just like family. No smoking anywhere on the premises. We can not cope with vegetarians, vegans or gluten free. Please say if you do not like certain food or have ANY allergies, we do need to know if you have any medical requirements that we should be aware of -asthma. If you like cooking sometimes that would be great, as we have had some fabulous foreign meals cooked for us.
    Do bring water proof and warm clothing, it can be very cold and wet on occasions, it has been known to be warm and sunny too!
    We are happy to have couples or friends or singletons.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is poor public transport, but we try to assist you in getting to places or local bus services. This area of Scotland is famous for Castles, distilleries, cooperages, the coast and fabulous wild scenery, We will take you to other farms and if there are any suitable talks or entertainment going when you are here that we can fit in. Better if possible to have own transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 6 hours depending on whats happening animals do not keep regular hours nbut we chill when we can to ballance this out. 2 days off a week


Host ref number: 671962143983