Help with organic gardening and other projects, learn about yoga and ayurveda, in San Luis Potosi, Mexico

Country

Mexico

updated  

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1237

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️Just girls for now


    We are a young couple who returned home after traveling the world, we were able to do it by using Workaway, and now it's time to return the favor.
    We made the decision to settle down for a while in our hometown, but we do not want to lose the traveling energy, we believe that by sharing with the workaweyers we can avoid falling into the routine and motivate us to continue moving in a certain way. We could also need some practice with our english, but we could help you learn some spanish if you want.
    My name is Monica, I am a yoga teacher and my husband is Rafael is a rope access technician (he works at heights) he currently lives in Leon, Gto, but he comes almost every weekend. We are both fun and relaxed, we love nature, so we do our best to go camping, hiking or fishing on weekends.
    We rent a nice house in the city, with a with a beautiful garden that makes you feel that you live on the outskirts of the city... we have many projects that we want to do and we would love an extra hand. We have an organic garden but it needs some care, we want to finish building a pizza oven, a lake in the garden, some planting boxes using pallets and we need to make some improvements to the house such as painting, waterproofing, etc., all are simple things that we usually do on weekends, but if we have help we could use that time to travel and show you a bit of Mexico.
    At home I try to eat as healthy as possible, we get up early to make smoothies or green juices and have a good breakfast, we eat at home 3 times a week, the other days we eat with the family ... I usually cook, but if you like cooking, we would love to try and share recipes. I am a vegetarian, so we do not usually buy meat at home, but you are welcome to buy and cook whatever you want.
    If you decide to help us, you wont have an echedule, we would tell you on what we need help, and if you can do that, you are welcome to use your time as you want: roam the city, take an extra job or travel whenever you want; except when we have some bigger project (like the pizza oven) where we may all have to work at the same time. As exchange of your help, we offer your own room, shared bathroom and food.
    At home we have 1 kitten, she is very cute and sweet, I only mention it in case you are allergic.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we already mentioned, we were traveling the world for a wile and we have a lot of experience as travelers that we would love to share, from security tips, to how to survive with a very low budget.
    On the other hand, we love sharing Mexican culture, something we are very proud of, so we can share food, culture, history, traditions, etc., If we have the time, we would love to take you out and show you some of those beautiful hiding places that you wouldnt be able to see as a tourist.
    If enjoy nature, you can join us on our weekend adventures, go fishing, climing, hiking, camping, etc.
    As a yoga teacher, I love sharing my philosophy to whoever is interested, you can share my yoga and meditation practice, learn more about healthy eating, or experience some of my ayurveda therapies or Tarot reading.
    Also the opportunity to learn more about urban gardens, bioconstruction, etc.
    We also like to relax after a few days of work, just sit down to enjoy a beer, talk and listen to good music or make a BBQ with friends over the weekend ...

  • Help

    Help

    IMPORTANT: Now that I am living alone in the house I would love some help and company from another girl. I could use some help in the garden, cooking, cleaning or even better If you're creative, you can do some art project in the garden*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️


    We have an organic garden, we need help taking care of it and watering the plants (it is taking us a lot of time).
    We want to build a lake in the garden and finish building a pizza oven using eco building technics.
    If you have experience with any of the above or if you want to learn with us, you are more than welcome.
    If you are interested in teaching yoga, contact me and we can find a way to make it happen.
    We would expect 4 hrs of work a day, 5 days a week

    We have so many things we want to do but we need to work slowly depending on the budget, so, let us know what project are you interested on and we can plan the budget for your stay...

    We have a lady that comes ones a week to do the cleaning of the house, but we like to keep it clean the rest of the week; we do not consider keeping the house in order or doing the dishes as part of the work, so we would expect you to help us in that area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room with comfy sofa bed and a share bathroom. We have an extra bathroom outside the house, that you are welcome to use if you prefer privacy.
    We offer 3 meals a day, you can join us to eat or cook you own food if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Luis Potosi is a beautiful colonial city, the historic center is spectacular. In addition, San Luis has an exceptional location, because it is so central, there are many places that can be visited from here on weekends, Mexico City is only 4 hours away, at a shorter distance Guanajuato, San Miguel de Ayende, Queretaro , Monterrey, Zacatecas, Guadalajara, Morelia, etc, the entire center of Mexico at a very accessible distance. We have friends and family in several of these places that maybe can provide accommodation for the weekend.
    In addition, the state of San Luis Potosi has incredible places to visit, Real de 14 a magical town in the desert that is worth visiting. The Huasteca Potosina is a paradise on earth with many adventures to experience (Xilitla, El Sotano de las Golondrinas, Micos, Puente de Dios, etc).
    We have friends with tour operators that can take you to rappelling, waterfall jumping, rapids, canyoneering, hiking to the desert, or whatever you want for a very affordable price.
    It is very easy to move arround, we can help you to plan your trips so you can travel cheap and safe all the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 667741989619