Help with some building work in the Northern Italy countryside



Favourited 374 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    My family & I live in South Wales, UK & also have a home in Northern Italy, a 30 minute drive from the city of Turin. Our house in Italy is in a beautiful, quaint village close to the town of Aglie. We have been restoring our Italian home ourselves for the past 8 years & on a recent holiday to New Zealand heard about their volunteer exchange system. We thought it was a great idea, so when we heard about workaway it seemed ideal! Ideal for us as we would appreciate some help & ideal for volunteers who will get to explore a lovely, relatively undiscovered area of Northern Italy. The area where our home is situated is slightly elevated so gives fantastic views of Turin and stunning mountain ranges, the closet of which being the beautiful Grand Paradiso. There is a vineyard directly in front of the house (not ours unfortunately!) & protected woodlands to the side & behind, excellent for mountain biking & walking. We have a swimming pool which your welcome to use when its opened, mid May-mid September. There's also a big barbecue,loads of board games, a pool table & table tennis to keep you entertained!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    our home is in a relatively (to tourists) undiscovered area of Piemonte and therefore you can discover the real Italy outside of the house. There are beautiful walks/bike rides from the doorstep , and villages and towns close by to explore. Turin is just a short train journey away as is the beautiful Aosta valley and Gran Paradiso.

  • Help


    Basically we need help with some painting inside & outside, building work, carpentry & plumbing would be great & we would love some artistic input, maybe with some mosaics!? We are also open to hearing your thoughts and ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The house has 4 large bedrooms. At times some of these will be used for our b&b, so you might have to share. Also the bathrooms are shared but very clean. Towels and bedding are available & if you don't like my cooking, you can have full use of the kitchen! There is no smoking in the house but we are happy for you to smoke outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are easy going people but always respectful of our surroundings & neighbours. Be honest with us & we will be with you, respect is the key word in our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dylan 😍
Fay, your host.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 664859227272