Helping hands to assist with our projects in the Chilcotin, Canada



Favourited 22 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Welcome! We are looking for helping hands with our small projects this summer and caretaking a home and garden, in the beautiful Nemiah Valley.

    Position Status: Open, we are looking for help.

    Time span where help is needed June 15 - July 30
    5 weeks minimum stay up to 6 weeks is desired and possible.
    We are a small family of three, living at Big Lake In the Nemiah Valley on Traditional Chilcotin Lands. Roland, Udette and Jesaja

    We have a strong connection to nature and our lifestyle is down to earth. Our organic garden supplies us with healthy vegetables all summer long, we can even catch fresh fish from the lake right at our doorstep.

    We make a living as a small bed and breakfast wilderness retreat, selling Crêpes at fairs and festivals, maintaining a small forest recreation campsite at Big Lake and Jesaja as a professional magician and entertainment artist.

    To maintain this lifestyle, mostly in the summer months we need helping hands. Especially during the time of our absence. Caretaking our home, greenhouse, and garden, easy chores from watering, weeding and harvesting, preserving, up-keeping and maintenance of our dwellings. Helping with other projects and preparing meals is part of the daily routine.

    Volunteers stay in our guest cabin or in a pioneer wall tent and we expect a minimum stay of 5 weeks or longer if possible 6 weeks

    We don’t expect miracles to happen but helping hands when needed most and you are more than welcome to explore the beautiful area in your free time. the use of our canoes or rowboats are also available anytime. We will do our best to show you around this magnificent part of the world.

    We will provide you with experience and mentorship in life skills, including organic gardening, wildcrafting, alternative technology and construction with natural and recycled materials.

    We live off the grid, from solar and wind power and have a limited amount of internet contingent which we have to share. Phone service is always available and especially for emergencies.

    Our closest neighbors are the Xeni G’wetin First nation people, as such, we ask of you to simply respect their lands and traditions during your stay. There are several community events, with the opportunity to participate and learn more about their culture.

    To reach our location you must travel to Williams Lake in central BC, from there it's a 3-hour trip, partly on dirt roads to our home. If you don’t have your own transportation we can arrange to pick up from Williams Lake.

    If you are physically fit and comfortable with living in a remote area for extended periods of time, from a few days to a week and have any prior experience with this kind of lifestyle. Or interest in learning more about it.

    We are looking forward to hearing from you!

    Thank you
    Roland, Udette and Jesaja

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    close by will spend time in one of BC's truly remote and beautiful locations. With spectacular scenery around every corner.

    Learning the simple way of living in a remote location far away from the busy city life. Living off the grid from wind and solar power, using recycled materials for projects and work.

    Planting and organic garden, harvesting and preserving healthy food or wildcrafting from nature.

    These are some of the things we offer to teach you during your stay and there is so much more, we are looking forward to learn new things and ways of life from travellers all around the world as well.

    Sharing, exchanging and learning

  • Help


    Projects for 2019

    1.Planting, maintaining and harvesting our organic garden and greenhouse.
    2.Building an outdoor baking oven. 
    3.Construction of a barn wood guest shelter. 
    4.Care-taking our home and property, garden and greenhouse / main part
    5.Maintaining a forest recreation campsite.
    6.And more creative and fun projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation


    We provide our guest cottage during your stay, a small private cozy log cabin with two beds, stove and table or a pioneer tent. A small bath and shower house is also available anytime and several outhouses.
    Otherwise you will be spending your time together with us in our chalet and living and dining space.

    Food is vegetarian, including dairy, eggs and fish.
    Cooking and preparing meals is a shared task for everyone to participate and help out with.

    During the summer we harvest a very large percentage of food directly from our garden, all organic. We can catch rainbow trout in from lakes close by and alway try to buy organic products when possible.

    We expect a minimum stay of 4weeks or longer, if possible 6weeks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Living in a truly remarkable place in the beautiful Nemiah Valley.

    The scenery around us it truly one of a kind, especially Chilko Lake. Just a short drive away, lies one of the largest high elevation fresh water lakes in British Columbia, surrounded by towering mountain ranges.

    You are more then welcome to explore the beautiful area in your free time. The use of our canoes or row boats are also available anytime. We will do our best to show you around this magnificent part of the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 663181357262