Join our family of four living in the lovely Willamette Valley in Oregon, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 40 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *currently accepting vaccinated travelers*

    Hello! We are a family of four living in the lovely Willamette Valley in Oregon. Only 1.5 hours from Portland and 1 hour to the beautiful Oregon coast, we spend our days working from home and raising our children while hoping to own a farm of our own someday. We care deeply about the environmental impact of our choices and strive to raise our children to be stewards of the environment, as well. We have recently relocated to a new home with less land and in great need of a garden to establish--lots of tasks to be done. We have lived internationally and greatly enjoy cross-cultural interactions whenever possible. We speak Spanish, English, some German and French. Throw in some Danish and Russian and we are set. We love workaway and have greatly enjoyed the friendships we have made through this program.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This exchange would provide the opportunity to experience small town Oregon with big city close by. This town has a large university and loads of farming and agriculture around. A quick drive through the farm towns brings you to Portland, Oregon. Home of the hipster and all things organic. Our home is full of life and experimental gardening and parenting. We love community and sharing stories, culture, food, and fun.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Ways someone could help around our home would be through language practice, gardening, and general help around the house. We always appreciate a little help with cooking and tidying up, as well. The rest of the time we would be able to provide experience gardening, and language exchange.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in French and Spanish language exchange. I speak English and Spanish and am wanting to improve my French (and Spanish can always be improved). Thanks!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    *Currently during Covid we are offering a tent in the yard. It is cozy and big enough for at least two adults to stay in comfortably* access to indoor bathroom and kitchen, etc. available.

    We can offer a private room in our home. The room has a queen sized bed and some closet space. The rest of the house includes 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and a fun yard. We have a bike to borrow and lots of trails close by. All our food is organic and healthy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned, we are a small university town full of things to do locally and close to major cities for additional entertainment and culture. We usually spend our weekdays playing with the kids. Our weekends include spontaneous outings and day trips to the beach, hikes, hot springs, Portland, etc. Lots of nature around to spend your time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 662176224773