Help on fruit farm in Tarragona, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a fruit farm of cherries and mandarins. We have a Spanish rescue dog and 5 cats. We are looking for help with tree pruning log cutting and general land maintenance. We also want help preparing our vegetable patch. We have a caravan which you would be staying in and would need help over the later months of the year and beginning of the year. Also fruit picking of the cherries in May and mandarins January. There is only my daughter and myself and would love to get some help getting the farm back up to full capacity. We have a pool which can be used while your here and would offer trips to the beach for you at weekends which is only half an hour away. It's a nice walk into town with bars and restaurants. The walk is along the river and fishing is possible is rod hire available in town

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer beautiful views, enjoyable walks, fishing on river, kayaking is available in town. The local town of Mora La Nova has train links to Tarragona a beautiful medieval city and Reus hosts the Gaudi centre. Barcelona is just a 2 hour train journey away to take in the barcelona open top city tour of more local is Miravet castle and we are near the priorat region if wine making. There is mixture of spanish and catalan spoken here and the people are friendly and welcoming. We hope the workaways will learn about fruit growing in this region and hopefully have some tips for us to make the fruit farm better.

  • Help

    Help

    Tree pruning, log cutting with chainsaw, strimming burning rubbish. General cleaning around farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    5 berth caravan with shower toilet sink. 1 double bedroom TV and dvd. Selection of dvds. Tv in lounge area for use with USB stick for films etc. Single bedroom and lounge area that converts to double bed. Kitchen has cooker grill toaster microwave and fridge so you can cook own meals or I can cook for you. All food for meals is provided and drinks. If your going to beach for day at weekends can do pack lunches with cool bag. I would provide transport to beach and collection back to home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches and 1/2 an hour away in hospitalet del enfant salou is 45 minutes away and cambrils the same. Hospitalet hosts a large Sunday market. Cambrils offers boat trips and lovely menu del dia. Salou hosts the water parks and adventure parks. Lovely walks bird watching, fishing, beaches kayaking. Mora La Nova train station links us to Tarragona, Reus, Barcelona and Zarragoza.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 661813718594