Lend a hand at our bach overlooking Manukau Harbour, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia Ora! We are Dave and Amanda. Kiwis living in France. Our beloved bach (kiwi for holiday shack) is to the west of Auckland. It needs some TLC! We will be returning there to do some DIY in summer and would relish the opportunity to host workawayers, looking after them and supplying meals of course (Amanda is a chef), in return for some help with the hammer and nails. Please contact us for more information.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is located in an idyllic rural part of New Zealand but within easy reach of Auckland and large towns. There will be the opportunity to discover the local culture with us and chat with the friendly locals. I am of Maori descent and was born in the area. It's a one minute walk to the beach. The area is full of native flora and fauna.

  • Help

    Help

    Kia Ora! We are looking for some help to restore our little kiwi bach (rustic holiday home) to her former glory. We invite workawayers to come and give us a hand in return for an introduction to either of our languages (english or french) and to work alongside us helping us with a hammer and nails. Some DIY experience would be an advantage however you don't need to be a skilled builder .. just someone who likes to get involved and lend a hand. The bach is on a hill overlooking the Manukau Harbour. Surrounded by native trees in a calm idyllic setting about 90 mins drive from Auckland city. Accommodation is either onsite or at a chalet next to the beach a 5 minute wander along a country lane. We will be staying there too and Amanda (who is a chef) will cook for you .. from French delicacies to our traditional Kiwi bbq!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    To be determined. The bach itself is not currently habitable (no elec) .. so we would rent some accom within walking distance .. a holiday chalet or another bach.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lovely bay for swimming and fishing. Surfing on the west coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 659271258585