Just returned from a long period of traveling; seeking help to clean/re-organize my house (Groningen, Netherlands)

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I AM SEEKING HELP PER IMMEDIATELY!

    PLEASE INCLUDE AMPLE INFORMATION ABOUT YOURSELF AND COMMENTS IN REFERENCE TO THE SPECIFIC TASKS I REQUEST.

    I DO NOT APPRECIATE COPY & PASTE REQUESTS!!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I am an open and sociable person; respectful, tidy and well organized in my space, although I live a highly irregular lifestyle.

    As a life-long traveler, having lived and traveled extensively for shorter and longer periods in a diversity of countries/continents/cultures, I have quite a (multi-)cultural outlook on life.
    I particularly spent much of my life in Spanish speaking (Spain, Latina America) and Arab countries and have a strong affinity with both.

    I care about the world we live in and social (in)justice, be it due to racism or oppression, whatever its form.
    And have a great appreciation for (multi-)cultural expression: music, art, crafts, etc., and not to forget culinary (cooking is one of my passions).

    I enjoy both the (cultural) diversity offered by city life, as well as the beauty and tranquility of the nature, and have lived extensive periods in both.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Groningen is located in the north of the Netherlands.
    It has a very interesting population and multi-cultural mix.

    On the one hand Groningen is a Dutch provincial capital, with its own distinctive culture.

    It is also a very important university city - the immediate impression one gets of Groningen is young people on bicycles wherever you look.
    It is the city with the largest percentage of youth per capita.

    Not only do our 2 universities enjoy national prestige, but they also have extensive and widely varied international curriculums.
    Particularly, but not exclusively, popular as an Erasmus destination, there is an abundance of students from all over the world.

    Groningen was a preferred university for social and philosophical curriculums during the 60s, 70s and early 80s (highly social justice oriented); many students of that generation (politically/socially active, often conveyed through cultural expression) remained in the city or established themselves in villages in the immediate surroundings, which has a clear influence on the city’s social and cultural life until today.

    In addition, Groningen is one of the more welcoming Dutch cities for immigrants/refugees; the multi-cultural diversity is clearly apparent and very much integrated into the city's cultural (and culinary!) fabric.

  • Help

    Help

    I am seeking help to clean and reorganize my house, having just returned from 7 months in the Mexican jungle region, and discovering that the student who was staying here while I was away did not leave it in as proper a condition as she should have.

    So I am looking for someone with a good eye for details to help me do a thorough cleaning job and get the house organized and back in a good condition.

    I am seeking help for 1, preferably 2, and possibly 3 weeks...
    Hard to judge in advance, but I seek someone who can commit his/herself to at least a week, preferably 2 or more.

    Depending on how things go, it could possibly be for longer, as I have a variety of other projects that I have long had the idea to do but never seemed to find an appropriate moment for.

    But as I just returned, and need to contemplate my next steps, I prefer to leave that open for now, first get the house clean and reorganized, and just see how things go.

    However, I seek someone with general handyman/woman skills and experience with basic tools for a variety of projects.

    I am a good improviser myself and love to invent infrastructure and systems for my needs (as I have lived in many different countries and conditions, and am generally not able to afford to do things the proper, often costly, way… so have to get creative!).
    And I’m used to working with basic tools.

    I will also be sharing in the work much of the time, although I would probably be more focused on reorganizing things as the spaces become clean.

    It would also be nice if you could also share in the cooking at times; I am passionate about cooking myself, and love to share recipes and food.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent Dutch/English/Spanish. Can improvise in Italian/Portuguese through Spanish. Reasonable French, but not properly. Limited German, due to proximity with Dutch. I can communicate to a certain extent in Arabic (Middle-Eastern; improving with help from

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer accommodation in my house, where you would have your own (small) bedroom (it’s a small 2 bedroom house) and access to the entire house (living room, kitchen, bathroom).

    And 2 meals a day (a good breakfast or brunch and dinner).

    If you are a couple (M/F, M/M, F/F) or 2 friends, I could accept and accommodate the second person (in a double bed).
    But I am only able to cover the food expenses for 1 person .

    Sorry about that, but I live on a very minimal income.
    However, precisely for that reason, and because I like to eat well, I am good at shopping low-budget, but still being able to eat good, varied meals with fresh ingredients (I am not a fast food type!).

    My house is small but very nice, although simple and somewhat bohemian, with big windows (lots of light) and a small garden in the back, in a central location, in front of a park with a pond, (very green and lots of bird life).

    The house is located at the edge of the city center.
    The main square and market is 5 minutes by bicycle, 6-7 minutes by bus (there is a bus stop nearby), 15-20 minutes walking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Groningen offers a broad and diverse (multi-)cultural and night life, with the largest number of cafes/bars in proportion to its population, youth centers, theaters, concerts, festivals during the summer, a few museums, etc.

    In the province surrounding the city are many quaint villages, many of which have interesting sites to visit.
    During the summer there is a range of cultural activities throughout the province.
    The province of Groningen is also known for its extensive countryside - popular among hikers and cyclists.
    Most areas are within a distance suitable for a day trip, be it by bicycle or bus.
    The province is also dotted with campings and B&Bs for those interested in touring the area for a longer period.

    The 2 neighboring provinces - Drenthe and Friesland (Friesland has its own language and culture) - are of equal interest, and although a bit farther away, accessible for a longer bicycle trip, or by bus/train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 651524163194