Help a homeschooling family in Southwest France



Favourited 8 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of 4, 2 Adults and 2 Kids (11 and 3 years). We are a Swiss-Italo-Canadian family. Among all 4 we speak English, Italian, French, German. Right now English is still the strongest/most spoken language, but we are working on learning french and improve the other 2 languages.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We leave in rural southwest France next to a Buddhist monastery, (plum village, thick nhat hanh) so that could be an experience for who is interested in it. During retreats they have up to 2 days which are open for everyone. There is also lots in the region to explore, which we are happy to facilitate. Furthermore, we are looking forward in getting to know you and have exchanges and there are lots of skill to be acquired on the building site as well.

  • Help


    We are currently building a house. Our kids are homeschooled. So we are looking for people who help either with the building or with the daily things to do including childcare/teaching. Right now for example, it would be very helpfull to have somebody who can talk french with the kids, but other teaching areas are good too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German and Italian

  • Accommodation


    At this moment it would still be very basic in a trailer, composting toilet and bucket shower. But as time goes we will have space in the house and an indoor toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not public transit next to our house. However, there are a few train stations in the radius of 20km, where we are happy to drive you to, if you want to visit the region or cities, such as Bordeaux or the Bassin of Arcachon. There is a little convenience store in walking distance, but for bigger groceries, you have to go by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 644538239356