Come and help us in our home in the Catskills Mountains on the Delaware River near NYC.

Country

United States

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a queer-friendly homestead in the Catskills in a secluded, wooded wonderland, just 2 hours from NY City.

    I designed and built this house in 2007, and I currently live with my partner Juliette, accompanied by 2 dogs (Mr Nichols and Cozy) and Smokey the cat. Juliette, resident artist here, and I have an antique sourcing and restoration business in an old bus depot in town. Formerly, I was a long time East Village resident, and avant-garde Super 8 filmmaker. This is my home, but also an informal lawless camp for artists, operating in the storied tradition of creative colonies removed from urban centers, where visitors realize their goals while fostering a connection to nature.

    Past guests include JD Samson/MEN (band), Shelly Mars (performer), Nicky Click (singer), Patty Chang (visual artist), Douglas Martin, Darcey Steinke (authors), Lynne Chan, Yvette Choy, Tara Mateike and Bobby Abate (video artists), Tyler Caruso (environmental activist), Nami Hall (trapeze artist), Charlie Dibe (film producer), Miriam Ginestier (event organizer)…

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I am hard-working artist & designer, easy going, mostly fishatarian and prefer local organic food. Smoking outside is ok.

    I am looking for very specific skilled help maintaining & improving the design of the house. Specific projects for 2014 are staining house, finishing a Sap house studio accommodation (see picture)building lean-to by river, building sauna house, building deck with outdoor shower off back of house, making bathroom with bluestone tile work, firewood gathering & splitting, that may entail cutting down trees. Sanding & staining floors in house. Expertise in any of these tasks is a plus. Artists & travelers are welcome, but I am looking for very specific skilled help this summer.

    Gardening herbs & flowers, stone walls, outdoor kitchen of stone design.

    Website designer & developer needed.

    Possible house/petsitting & work while I am traveling.

    You must have your own vehicle or method of transportation unless work stay is short term and special arrangements apply. Pick up at local train or bus station would entail a travel/gas expense contribution.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (one of us)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The property is 4 bucolic acres facing a river, with hammocks, picnic tables, horseshoes, outdoor showers, and multiple fire pits.
    There are several options for accommodation:

    1) A room or bed in the loft of the main house. Rustic house featuring all retro fixtures, wood stove, screened in porch, claw-foot tub, hot outdoor shower, and a record player. Animals: I live on the property with 2 dogs, Cozy and Mr Nickles, as well as a cat Smokey.

    2) And once it will be completed, a sap house with a working stove, as well access to an outdoor "sink", outdoor hot shower, out-house and fire pit.

    3) Camping with tent or in lean-to on the land by river.

    Housing options are negotiable, but I would appreciate that longer term guests be flexible depending on rentals or art residents.

    The house is extremely comfortable, and promotes simple living. I don't have cable TV, a microwave, a dishwasher, or an indoor shower. But I do have wifi and a land-line.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty to do in the area:
    Hiking, fishing, hunting.
    Clothing optional bathing in the river - swimming in small river on property with pools about 3-4 feet high, and plenty of spots to get a natural waterfall massage. Delaware River swimming, canoeing, rafting, tubing 5 min. away by car, or walk, or bike.
    Outdoor cooking and campfires.
    Antique shopping and lots of markets to check out, local ammenities in small river town 5 min. drive or 20 min. bike ride.
    Lots of wildlife: deer, bears, eagles...

    We are close to the Woodstock concert site, local ski/spa resorts, and Narrowsburg, the queerest town in the Catskills!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day, or 25 hours per week.

Host ref number: 638799247488