Help required with our farmhouse in Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1428

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself and Richard are a young couple from a working beef and sheep farm in Devon, England. Recently we purchased a derelict farmhouse which we have refurbished over a period of 2-3 years to create our beautiful home. We are aged 23 and 27 and a are fun and outgoing couple. I traveled overseas as a 'Workaway'er' so know how daunting & rewarding it can be.
    The help is varied and satisfying. Because of the variety of tasks, I am sorry we can not take workaways that do not speak good English.

    We are only looking to host 1 traveler at a time for approximately 1-2 weeks at a time. The time can certainly be extended but we would like to meet with you first so on the first instant we will not commit to host any traveler for a period longer that 2 weeks. Please be assured that we are a very friendly couple but because a traveler will be living in our home we would like to meet first and we really hope it will work for both parties and there is a possibility depending on jobs etc for somebody to stay longer.

    I have received many enquirers for 2 travelers and enquirers for long stays, please understand that this doesn't work for us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful rural part of the Devon Countryside reknowned for it's natural beauty. The farm totals about 300 acres and farm life for Richard is very versatile so we would expect a traveller to fit right in and embrace our culture. It is likely a traveller will benefit from new experiences, new sites and fresh ideas. We want travellers to have an insight into how we live. Both Richard and I have a strong intrest in farming, rural matters but we are young and easy going and look forward to introducing other people and cultures into our home. I work part time so will be around for half of the week.

  • Help

    Help

    We have been converting a derelict house to our current home but we now require a helping pair of hands. There are a vast array of jobs we need help with. The house is almost finished but there are still some rooms that require some time but we can be quite flexible with the jobs to suit the traveller. The types of jobs; Help around the house, painting , cleaning, gardening, farming, building.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable double bedroom in our recently converted home. Please note that at present the only shower room we have in the house is downstairs. The kitchen, living space, showeroom etc. will be shared with ourselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are approx 7 miles from the large town of Tiverton and South Molton. There is a regular bus service available from both destinations. Where possible we will try and help with lifts. I will certainly enlighten any traveller with good places to visit, bus times tables etc.

    We look forward to hearing for you, happy travels!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 635713261695